Why The Hate on Humans?

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by agent j 15, Nov 23, 2016.

?

What are your thoughts on human characters?

1. Love them!

4 vote(s)
    9.8%
  2. They're okay.

14 vote(s)
    34.1%
  3. Don't care for them (neutral)

11 vote(s)
    26.8%
  4. Hate them.

3 vote(s)
    7.3%
  5. WE WILL KILL THEM ALL.

9 vote(s)
    22.0%
  1. agent j 15

agent j 15 poopity-scoop

Side note - this is my first time making a thread in the updated system and it's SOOOOOOO nice. If there's any mods in the thread nice work - being able to watch my thread and get emails about it is a nice touch.

So back to the main idea - among the fandom, I've noticed dislike, growing into contempt, for any human characters in a Transformers movie. They hate that they take away screen time from the robots, they hate how flat they usually are, they hate that they don't do anything... and these are valid(ish) complaints. The current human characters in the films are, for the most part, pretty boring. But I think there's a reason for that.

They are so far removed from the coolest thing about the movies - that is, the robots.

Think about it - the only human with a real close connection to a Transformer until AOE was Sam and Bumblebee, and personally that was my favorite part about them both (I also disliked Sam and fucking despise Bumblebee). They had an interesting relationship, something like a big brother and little brother, only they occasionally switched roles, which helped make them all the more intriguing. I was honestly a little shocked no one else had this relationship, particularly characters like Epps and Lennox - you think as soldiers they'd have the brothers in arms bond with the robots.