Why are new figures packaged in Robot form?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by MEGATRON2099, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. nobleboivin

    nobleboivin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Posts:
    14,211
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +8,331
    Doesn't bother me much
     
  2. jestermon

    jestermon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    10,764
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    362
    Likes:
    +3,401
    There were already lines before this one in recent times when they were in robot mode so what's new about this?
     
  3. Fretburn

    Fretburn We need Instrument TFs

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Posts:
    4,397
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +2,523
    It's difficult to care about the disposable packaging the thing I collect is marketed in. I don't care if my toy is in robot or car mode. It'll get to one or the other soon after I get it anyway.
     
  4. 2ndSndWve

    2ndSndWve Hen... Shin!

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,711
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Location:
    Maine
    Likes:
    +6
    IMO a lot of modern figures still look better in vehicle mode. PRiD BB, BH Smokescreen, and PRiD Voyager OP all come to mind. Even if the figure's robot mode is pretty good, the vehicle mode still usually looks better.
     
  5. Gingerchris

    Gingerchris Telly-headed Tyrant

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    16,100
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    387
    Likes:
    +2,576
    I would imagine packaging them in robot mode must be easier and quicker (and thus cheaper). If a TF is to be packaged in vehicle mode then surely once the figure is assembled somebody in the factory has to transform it into alt mode. I cannot see how most Transformers could really be assembled directly into alt mode, especially the more fiddly ones.
     
  6. flik68

    flik68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,981
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Location:
    Nashville, AR
    Likes:
    +3,655
    Ebay:
    cause if they were in vehicle mode, people would ask why they weren't packaged in robot mode.
     
  7. Razor72

    Razor72 Mandalore

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Posts:
    219
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Location:
    Iowa
    Likes:
    +3
    This. Considering how complicated toys have been in recent year, could imagine how much time and would be put into transforming them.
     
  8. MagnusPrimal

    MagnusPrimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    6,920
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +2,644
    I prefer having them packaged in robot mode so I can check the paint job.
     
  9. QmTablit

    QmTablit BotBot in the what, I said BotBot in the what

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    9,920
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +762
    Yeah, I haven't been a fan of the switch from figures being packaged in alt mode to robot mode.
     
  10. MEGATRON2099

    MEGATRON2099 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Posts:
    693
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +4
    Ebay:
    I understand where your coming from im just saying i get two, one to display loose and the other sealed. Its not really a big deal at all just a preference.
     
  11. Roufuss

    Roufuss Shots

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Posts:
    9,155
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +2,217
    The real question is for the Voyagers, why are the instructions only from alt mode to robot mode when it's packed in robot mode?