Customs: What's the best method for modelling TF faces?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Ruizu1990, Jan 24, 2019.

1. Ruizu1990

Ruizu1990 dark energon is one hell of a drug

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Hi
    I started 3D modelling with Blender approximately one month ago. I have no experience but have been watching a lot of tutorials online.

My eventual goal is to create new faces for some figures that I own.

I modelled Arcee and Bumblebee in Blender. No intention to 3D print these, they were just for practice.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I use the typical method that most 3D artists use when they're modelling faces. The one that maps out the facial muscles via edge loops. I have had to adapt it to TF faces. I then use a subsurf modifier to smooth things out.

The biggest struggle I have is achieving hard edges, especially since I use the subsurf. I use the bevel tool to get a hard edge but the result is mixed.

Eyes are also a problem. They always end up rounded when I want them to have hard geometric edges. Arcee can get away with rounded eyes, but it looks odd with male bots.

What method do other people use to model transformer faces (particularly the blocky G1 style)? It doesn't matter if you don't use Blender, I just want to know how other people work.

I also have Fusion 360 but I use it for mechanical items like guns and stuff.

2. EpsilonEta

EpsilonEta Well-Known Member

Nice work. I'm working in Blender myself and there is (at least) two ways of making hard edges and there should be a lot of tutorials teaching it. One way is to create an extra edge loop and the otherother is to select the edges and set them to sharp (or someting like that) I don't remember the shortcut...

Ok, just googled sharp edges and got this: