Minor/Repaint: Ultimate G1 RotF Mixmaster (advice needed)

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Obliterator999, Aug 1, 2010.

1. Obliterator999

Obliterator999 Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    A while ago I bought the exclusive RotF Mixmaster that's sporting his g1 colors and really liked it but I had a problem or 2 with it. I really didn't understand the choice of using orange for his clear parts for one. The original RotF Mixmaster had some fantastic purple windows that would fit the G1 recolor perfectly and adding the superior looking ciment barrel to it would really be the best of both worlds! So I got an original Mixmaster and swap the pieces and this is the result:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This is a word of advice for anyone thinking of doing something similar. For some reason, the clear parts on the G1 Mixmaster are very easy to remove. The headlights took little effort to pry from their sockets because there is very little glue used. On the other hand, the original Mixmaster will take you monumental efforts to get the pieces out. There's a lot of glue here and I tried using force to get the headlights out but this damaged both the clear parts and the exterior side of the cab (nooks and scratches mostly). I resorted to dremel some of the plastic around the headlights on the inside of the cab to get them out and this worked. I should've done this right away, it would've avoided some damage to the pieces.

Anyways, I'm not quite done with this figure just yet. As you can see from the 2nd picture I purposely mistransformed Mixmaster's legs. I much prefer having him this way, he looks far more proportioned. The thing though is that the screws now become visible and I would very much like to hide them, but I'm not sure what material to use. There's also his face that needs some resculpting, 'cause that oddly smiling sad puppy face just doesn't work for a decepticon........ Should I get Sculpey for this? I'm just not very familiar with this stuff.

[​IMG]