Tips for buying a New TV

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Max Tower, Mar 1, 2020.

1. Max Tower

Max Tower Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I was just about to buy a new TV and I thought... hang on a minute there must be a whole load of elephant traps one can fall into and I thought. It might be worth starting a thread to discuss the perils and pitfalls of buying a new TV.

I'm far from an expert on the subject but just to give some examples of even the things I know about.

1) SD display & upscaling - does the TV display SD images clearly or does it make them look like a bad photocopy

2) Motion blur & Videogame mode and the pit falls of post processing and how easy is it to turn the post processing off for game mode and does it ruin the picture ?

3) HDR problems

4) Sound - does the TV have built in sound - is it loud does it have a centre speaker if you are using a sound bar with it, is it compatible with wireless speakers and other sound issues.

5) Data Security on a smart TV, how hard is it to alter the setting and do they even take - some TV's don't even work properly until they have been set up online so I hear.

6) In built Microphones/camera and security issues with that.

7) Inputs and outputs

8) Compatability with media devices.

9) Encyption for TV's with record mode - can you turn it off (some TV's you can and some don't even have any)

10) Can the TV record in standby mode (some can't supposedly).

11) Type of display tech the TV uses and also how economical that is

12) How did you get on with a larger screen - with regard to things like viewing angles, sunlight washout etc..

Those are just a few of them, so did you buy a new TV - or are you like me looking to buy one. what things did you find out in the process of buying one that you think are worth sharing.