Customs: Some Small Questions

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Deepsea, Jan 16, 2021.

1. Deepsea

Deepsea Well-Known Member

Hey everyone, I'm very new to customizing and trying to remember things I've heard in the past and learn any new techniques that might be helpful to me. Here's a small list of questions I need help with.

1. How long do I need to bath my parts for? I know I need to wash them to get the mold release off but how long do they need to sit in the warm soupy water?

2. Is there a technique for removing pins with large heads that doesn't involve a soldering iron? Can I dip the part in boiling water and then wiggle the pin out or would that mess up the plastic?

3. Do you base coat your customs before painting them? How does this affect the the way the colors look on the figure?

4. What size alligator clips do I need to buy to hold my parts when spray painting or base coating? What are good length kebab sticks for putting the alligator clips on?

5. How do I hold on the part to the wood block when trying to knock out the pin? Do I use a clamp or something?

Edit: More questions

6. How dissembled should my TFs be before I paint them?

7. How do I put a pin back into place after removing it?

8. How do I disassemble a ratchet joint, and can I paint those?

Thanks everyone, I'm sorry if this thread is redundant, these are small questions I couldn't find answers for.

Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
  2. kneero

kneero Well-Known Member

I'll try to help

1. I soak for maybe a few minutes, then scrub with a toothbrush. Then rinse and let dry.
    3. I base coat if I'm doing a full repaint. I use white if I'm going to be painting bright colors, gray for most other stuff.
    6. I strip my bots down only as far as I feel I need. That usually just involves pegs and ball joint connectors. I'm not great at removing pins, so I try to avoid it.
    7. Start with the non gnarled end and push the pin back into place.

Hope this is helpful.