SIOC Packaging (Ships In Own Container) and Frustration Free Packaging for Transformers

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Goldbolt, Aug 15, 2020.

1. Goldbolt

Goldbolt Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Edit: I'm not going to rewrite this original post but the photos from Zuckuss change some of the thought process so please read down below. I love the discussion this is generating, we'll get to the bottom of this.

I am an engineer that has worked in the packaging industry designing and testing shipping containers for pharmaceutical and consumer products companies for twenty years and have my name on three patents for packaging related technologies. I almost never make new threads here and didn't want this to get buried in the Amazon or Walmart threads. I've been seeing several people showing their recent toy shipments annoyed that they were shipped without an outer shipping box having the label directly applied to the toy package. I’m seeing this causing frustration and anxiety and think I can help explain what’s going on. Please keep in mind that this is written as a fellow collector from the perspective of someone who has worked for a packaging company designing packages, not someone with inside info from Hasbro. Also, apologies for how long it got as I wrote it, these are a complex ideas and I really want the implications for our community to be understood.