Sheba's Semiserialized Funnies

Discussion in 'Transformers Funnies' started by Sheba, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. Sheba

    Sheba FF 1 Badman=Cyclonus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,293
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +3,546
    I was trying to finally "get" the hang of adding text to an image in Paint Shop Pro. So here's some stuff I cooked up after seeing some of these crazy cards on the internet:

    [​IMG]
    philoallstarscream.jpg philoallstarsephiroth.jpg philosopherallstarmegatron.jpg
    [​IMG]

    So one of these days I'll be able to add text to my photocomics, properly. I'm still getting the hang of it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
  2. Sol Fury

    Sol Fury The British Butcher Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    36,389
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Likes:
    +2,119
    Facebook:
    Instagram:
    What I do for mine is use a draw option, usually a callout or something, add the text as a floating layer to get an idea of how it fits against the box (I usually do the box first to get an idea of the space I have to play with), then I take the text out and resize the box until its the right size to take the text. Gets more interesting when you've got multiple text boxes! I use PaintshopPro for my comics, though I'd imagine most programs ought to have the basics.
    Good luck on sorting it out, you've got some great stuff.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Sheba

    Sheba FF 1 Badman=Cyclonus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,293
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +3,546
    belling the.......whatever

    [​IMG]

    Incomplete Dirge: I've called you all here because of a great idea I had. Everybody's scared that the Headless Headmaster Horseman may reappear at any time.

    [​IMG]

    Incomplete Dirge: So I got this bell, which we can put around the neck of the Headless Headmaster Horseman. That way we can hear when he's coming and run away in plenty of time.

    Offscreen voice: HEY, MORON!

    [​IMG]

    Koby Fish: This IS the Headless Headmaster Horseman we're talking about here, right? So if he has no HEAD, it stands to reason that HE HAS NO NECK EITHER!!! You have nowhere to put that bell!

    [​IMG]

    Incomplete Dirge: Oh slag, you're RIGHT!

    Koby Fish: Now stand aside.

    [​IMG]

    Koby Fish: I swear, his incompleteness includes his logic circuits. Anyway, I have a MUCH BETTER use for this bell...

    [​IMG]

    Galvatron: Why can't I get in so much as cannon range of anybody today?

    Cyclonus: Erm, you pose an interesting question, m'lord.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Lord Megatron

    Lord Megatron FFFF

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +3
    If you have Paint, just use the text button. Easy as hell.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Andersonh1

    Andersonh1 Man, I've been here a LONG time Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    11,888
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Likes:
    +2,441
    Ebay:
    :lol  :lol 

    That's pretty good, but I"ll be glad when we have pictures visible again instead of clickable links!

    I notice Cyclonus is complicit in the use of the bell. ;) 
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,643
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    402
    Likes:
    +222
    Ebay:
    :lol :lol :lol :lol :lol  That was my favorite one so far!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Sheba

    Sheba FF 1 Badman=Cyclonus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,293
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +3,546
    Undead don't need to learn, they just come back...

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor.jpg
    skellyraptor2.jpg

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor3.jpg
    PVC Megatron: ...what the slag?!

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor4.jpg
    *SMACK*

    Megatron: Take that, you insolent bag of bones!

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor5.jpg
    Megatron: Yeah, you better run!

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor6.jpg
    Koby Fish: Stupid Skellyraptor.

    Skellyraptor: It's OK, I'll respawn in like 20 minutes.

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor7.jpg
    Later on...

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor8.jpg
    Skellyraptor: AAAAAAAGH! OHNOES THE HUNTER HAS BECOME THE HUNTED!!

    Mamma Tiger: rowr...
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,643
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    402
    Likes:
    +222
    Ebay:
    :lol :lol :lol :lol  He reminds me of "Dry Bones" from Super Mario Bros.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. UltimateOptimus

    UltimateOptimus Long-time Hungarian Truck

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    2,675
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Location:
    Hungary, European Sector, Earth
    Likes:
    +387
    The hunter became the hunted.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. The621

    The621 Fuck you, that's why!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Posts:
    5,012
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +88
    :lol  :lol  :lol  :lol  :lol 
    The undead aren't all that after all.
    :lol 
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Andersonh1

    Andersonh1 Man, I've been here a LONG time Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    11,888
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Likes:
    +2,441
    Ebay:
    :lol  :lol  Wouldn't be much meat on them bones!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Sheba

    Sheba FF 1 Badman=Cyclonus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,293
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +3,546
    speaking of meat on bones...

    [​IMG]
    skellyraptor9.jpg
    Skellyraptor: You know, it's a funny thing--I'm always hungry, but no matter how much I eat it never "sticks to my ribs." It always seems to "go right through me."

    Carnivac: At least you can eat.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Andersonh1

    Andersonh1 Man, I've been here a LONG time Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    11,888
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Likes:
    +2,441
    Ebay:
    :)  :)  Puns! :lol  :lol  :lol 
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. The621

    The621 Fuck you, that's why!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Posts:
    5,012
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +88
    :lol  :lol  :lol  :lol  :lol 
    Carnivac can't eat.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,643
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    402
    Likes:
    +222
    Ebay:
    :lol :lol :lol 
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. KA

    KA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,436
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    412
    Likes:
    +363
    hehe. i love puns.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Sheba

    Sheba FF 1 Badman=Cyclonus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,293
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +3,546
    Oh and look what I cooked up!

    fooling around with photo enhancement programs again. Paint Shop Pro is ABSOLUTELY a pain when it comes to adding text. I can't seem to "anchor" it or make it show up. At least ADSee makes it sorta obvious.

    But anyways...
    *note: I can't seem to find the image originals here but I'll put in what I *think* it was:

    Philosopher_Galvatron.jpg philosopherallstarssheba.jpg philosopherallstarsw.jpg
    philosopherallstarskoby.jpg philosopherallstarskirk.jpg

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
  18. Greyryder

    Greyryder Kitbashed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Posts:
    4,584
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +28
    What version of Paint Shop Pro are you using, and how are you adding the text? PSP is all I use.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Sheba

    Sheba FF 1 Badman=Cyclonus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,293
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +3,546
    Mine's 5.01

    I've tried using the text option which is on the toolbar under the brushes, erasers, select areas, etc. But so far I haven't been able to make the text "stick." So far nothing I've tried has made the text show up on the picture, other than the impermanence of the "selection" lines that form the outlines of the text letters.

    In ADSee what i do to "anchor" text is enlarge the "selection" area to the whole picture--this anchors the text and makes it show up. But PSP doesn't seem to want to anchor the text that way, and it promptly vanishes.
     
  20. Greyryder

    Greyryder Kitbashed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Posts:
    4,584
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +28
    Wow. Never used that one. I started with version 6.

    It sounds like it's set to male text a selection. Somewhere in the text tool, there should be some check boxes with option like "create as selection" or "create as vector." This should be near where you can change the font style, and size. Make sure the box near the option to make it as a selection is unchecked.

    Sorry for being so vague. I'm currently using version 9, and I don't even remember the interface layout for 6.
     
    • Like Like x 1