Re: These AoE Platinum Box sets... why not one for the (few) villains

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by JasonPrime, Aug 15, 2014.

1. JasonPrime

JasonPrime Well-Known Member

It's interesting to me how many of these platinum edition sets Hasbro is releasing. All Autobots/Dinobots so far if I'm not mistaken. But I'm thinking why not one for the bad guys. I mean really there aren't even that many villains really in the movie. Well named villains I mean. I don't know if it would sell maybe Hasbro has already considered it. But in my mind what I'm picturing if it were up to me.

Voyager Galvatron with a premium paint job. When I initially saw pics of the figure I was disappointed but when I got him in hand he is pretty amazing in my opinion. A lot of amazing sculpted detail that just doesn't 'pop' because of the lack of paint apps (I think, I'm not an expert but I've seen customizers make him look amazing).

Stinger (if we're ever going to get him).

And of course Lockdown with a premium paint job his gun face and perhaps some more accessories as well. Like maybe a hook hand and maybe even a robo wolf or two.

And finally perhaps repurpose an existing mold as one of Lockdown's crew?

All packaged in a nice Platinum edition box with a background in the packaging that looks like Mr. 'Down's ship.

Anyway, that I think would be pretty awesome.

Thoughts?

2. Warpshard

Warpshard Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I wholeheartedly agree. There were only two (three, if you count Stinger, but he didn't even talk) villains in the entire movie, one of which did nothing but forward the plot.

On the topic of reusing an old mold to make a Vehicon, there are quite a few "generic" Transformers from the first movie's toyline, many of which are still pretty enjoyable.

3. EMP Starscream

EMP Starscream Arbiter of TFW2K5

News Credits:
    Yes.

Three Pack: Voyager Galvatron, Deluxe Lockdown, Deluxe Stinger.

Stinger Fan Boys would lap it up hard.