Question about the Public Domain laws.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kaijuguy19, Nov 19, 2019.

1. kaijuguy19

kaijuguy19 Keyblade Wielder

News Credits:
    I don't know if this count as political so if it is feel free to shut it down. That being said I've recently looked into how Disney extended the copyright laws to protect Mickey Mouse from entering the public domain to the point that it also extended other characters from entering public domain. Like for example we would've gotten Spiderman in the public domain this year had it not been for Disney.

The question I have is that would it be possible to reverse the extension Disney placed on the public domain so that the character that would've entered public domain earlier can actually do so at last? If not then what's stopping them? Is it a once it's in place it stays in place type of law? If someone can answer that question that'd be great.

2. Subdurmal

Subdurmal Well-Known Member

I'm not a lawyer by any means but i think if you present a solid case advocating its change then it could be done.

But lets face it Disney has TONS of money and I'm sure the massive legal team they have would find a loop hole or a dozen of them to tie it up until you couldn't afford to continue

Again not a lawyer

3. Purple Heart

Purple Heart Some other time..

News Credits:
    This has been brought up before, and the short answer is that Disney will not let anything they own enter the public domain no matter the literal cost. So it doesn’t matter. Humans are a creatures easy swayed their own greed.

4. Megasquared

Megasquared Well-Known Member

News Credits: