Question about going 3rd Party

Discussion in 'Transformers 3rd Party Discussion' started by mysticbiscuit, Jul 15, 2014.

1. mysticbiscuit

mysticbiscuit Well-Known Member

Hey everyone, so very recently I've started noticing some of the awesome things that going 3rd party has to offer. Everything looks very innovative and there are aome figures I feel that Hasbro doesn't offer. Since I'm new to it I had some questions about the quality of figures, which are better than others and which companies are really solid and reliable. 3rd party figures are more expensive than Hasbro stuff and I don't wanna blow money on something when I could get a different 3rd party figure that's better.

2. Felixman

Felixman Well-Known Member

Your best bet is to work up a short list of figures you REALLY like and go hit up video reviews on youtube. Between TJ, Peaugh, Vangelus and others the overwhelming majority of these have been explored in detail. Many of them will often mention any known wide-spread issues with the figure.

As a quick short-hand, after spending almost two years around here it seems that Fansproject, Mastermind Creation, Fanstoys and Make Toys all have solid reputations at the moment, with even their detractors usually admitting the builds are fine, it's just the chosen designs they dislike.

TFC, Warbotron, Toyworld, and Perfect Effect are a bit more of a mixed bag and opinions of their work range from item to item and person to person.

Keith's Fantasy Club seems to have the lowest rep, and I've heard a lot of people either avoid them or approach with great caution.

3. JasonPrime

JasonPrime Well-Known Member

Felixman gives some good advice. Be careful though. Once you walk the 3rd party path forever will it dominate your destiny.

4. Tiller

Tiller I don't know nothin'

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Step one is finding something you like. Step two is research via threads here, youtube, reviews, etc.