PS3 and wireless = ARGH

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by AlphaPrime, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. AlphaPrime

    AlphaPrime Neo Autobot Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,694
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Seriously, we have a wireless router and the PS3 seems to be against it. Anyone gt sme tips/help for me? It hardly ever reads the IP and when i try to manually set the ip and such it gives me a DNS error.
     
  2. chrisr291

    chrisr291 Master of the Unknown

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    13,448
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +2,904
    Ebay:
    I used to have that problem with my Netgear until I replaced it with an Apple Time Capsule; Hardly ever dropped signal but it still happened occasionally.

    IF POSSIBLE, I'd suggest connecting the PS3 directly to the router. Better signal and zero lag
     
  3. yodafett

    yodafett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +3
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    ^ This. I have a linksys (actually, the junky one from my provider), and it works pretty well. Setting up with the wireless key was a bit more of a pain than it should have been, but otherwise, it's been clear sailing.

    If you share what's happening, like specific errors, we might be able to help more.
     
  4. Chalice

    Chalice ليس هناك ما هو صحيح، فكل

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    What everyone else has said, if there is ANY way to plug it in directly, do so. Even if it means running a cord 100 ft across your house. And I say that from experience, it's something I've done.

    Playing online over a wireless connection is incredibly shitty, for you AND for everyone else connected to you. In my experience your connection speed roughly doubles on the PS3 between wireless and wired.
     
  5. seeker311

    seeker311 The Collector

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9,247
    News Credits:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +94
    I've had the ps3 on both a cable and wireless, either way, it takes hours to download an update
     
  6. BooyakaDragon

    BooyakaDragon I Don't Even Know

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,896
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +208
    Play it Wired, Wireless is pretty unresponsive.
     
  7. Kevin XI

    Kevin XI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,906
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Lewisville TX
    Likes:
    +222
    Huh. I play through a router no problem. I just make sure my signal strength is 100% and I'm good to go.