posting things in all caps

Discussion in 'TFW2005 Tech Support' started by transtrekkie, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. transtrekkie

    transtrekkie On the level.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4,323
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
    I seem to be having trouble when posting something in all caps. For example: SQUIRRELL!
     
  2. transtrekkie

    transtrekkie On the level.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4,323
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
    Squirrell!!
     
  3. transtrekkie

    transtrekkie On the level.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4,323
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
    That last reply was posted in all caps but will only display in lower case if it's the first thing in the post. If there's something before it, it works fine. What's up with this? It's really annoying to want to post something but to have to put something random and nonsensical before what I want to actually post.
     
  4. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    12,628
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +3,501
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    We do that on purpose, to keep people from using all caps constantly. I understand the need to "shout" every once and a while, but if we removed that, half the forum would just be in caps, defeating the purpose.
     
  5. transtrekkie

    transtrekkie On the level.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4,323
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
    Oh ok. I thought it might be something like that. Mine wasn't really for shouting, I was referrencing the movie "Up" when the dog gets distracted and shouts "SQUIRRELL!". Not a big deal, but good to know for future referrence. Thanks for the explaination.