More computer problems... please help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eman7673, Oct 31, 2012.

1. Eman7673

Eman7673 The Machine

Ok heres what happened. I unplugged my computer (tower, monitor, pretty much everything else hooked up to it) to move it all out of the basement in case there was flooding from the hurricane. I unplugged everything sunday morning and moved it all upstairs, and attempted to plug everything back in around 3 hours ago. We did lose power several times, but the computer and everything else was all unplugged before we lost power, so that can't be the cause of it. I believe I plugged in everything correctly (I'm not a computer expert by any means) and when I attempted to plug in the tower into the surge protector, the tower would not turn on at all.

Its a 5 year old HP Elite PC and I have never had any hardware problems whatsoever. The power strip was working because the monitor, printer, speakers, modem and router all had power. Where the power cord plugs into the back of the tower, there is a solid green light that stays lit, but nothing else happens. I was doing some reading online and I saw it could be a problem with the PSU. I reset the red voltage switch (from 115 to 230, and back to 115) and that didn't do anything. The only on/off button is on the top of the tower, and when I press that, nothing happens.

I have never taken a computer tower apart before and I am afraid to do it myself, so I wont take that chance. What do you guys think I should do now?

2. Dark Skull

Dark Skull Well-Known Enabler Veteran

News Credits:
    On the back of the computer, is there a switch for the power supply? I don't know anything about your HP Elite PC....but I'd check that if there is one.

3. Eman7673

Eman7673 The Machine

Nah man no power switch.

[​IMG]

this is what it looks like in the back

aside from that green light going on, nothing else happens. No fan activity, no noise, nothing.