Customs: Making the first cut...

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by LizardbotHero, Jun 12, 2014.

1. LizardbotHero

LizardbotHero I am a warrior

Ebay:
    I'm a fairly inexperienced customizer, but I'm not a complete newb either. My biggest problem is that I really have trouble mustering up the courage to make that first cut.

Right now, I have an MP Skywarp that I desperately want to do the infamous leg mod on. I've researched several tutorials and have made a plan of action in my head. It seems like a fairly easy mod to do, right?

Then how come whenever I turn on my dremel to make that first drill hole, I freeze up and back down? I think part of it is that I spent a good deal of money on him and I'm really afraid that I'll mess it up somehow, but I have the same issue with junkers that I just want to mess around with.

So to the more experienced customizers out there, how do you work up the courage to destroy your figures in an effort to make them better?

2. Constructor

Constructor Behold my true form!

I try to think about how much better I'm going to make
    the figure by making those cuts. That usually helps me.

3. Superquad7

Superquad7 OCP Police Crime Prevention Unit 001 Super Content Contributor

News Credits:
    Twitter:
    Just make sure that the cut you're going to make is accurate and such. Measure thrice and cut once.

But yeah, this is why when Tutorials are made here that I request that the artist go into as much detail as possible, even if the modification is simple. In many cases, these figures came from our hard-earned money, and especially in cases like this it can be harder to replace them.