How do I learn toy design?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Kaynowa, Jun 23, 2019.

1. Kaynowa

Kaynowa #MakeTransformersStupidAgain

News Credits:
    So, like most anyone here, I absolutely love the toys this franchise has produced, and I'd love to make them myself for others to love. However, I have no clue HOW to go about doing so, be it official through Hasbro or starting my own 3P. I'm a college student majoring in mechanical engineering if that helps any, but I'd love to know how to go about learning the various aspects of toy design and how to get in the right channels to go through with it as a career or at least a profitable hobby. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

• Like Like x 5
  2. fschuler

fschuler Post Count Inflated With Hot Air TFW2005 Supporter

Start designing your own toys! As an engineering student, I'm sure you have access to some high-end design software. Take advantage of that. Come up with some ideas and simply start designing. Do you have access to a 3D printer? If so, use that to produce working prototypes to test your designs.

Once you have built up a repertoire of completed designs, you could use that to help get your foot in the door if you see an opening for a toy design job. Reach out to companies and other designers for input. I know there are some who post on TFW who do it professionally, and I am sure they could provide much more useful and practical advice than what I have done here.

Do you have any designs or concepts you would like to share?

• Like Like x 3
  3. MasterScale

MasterScale Well-Known Member

Hello. I was wondering the same thing a while back, and one of the TFW users here, Bot Sculptor, recommended this book:

https://www.amazon.com/Pop-Sculpture-Figures-Collectible-Statues/dp/0823095223#reader_0823095223

It seems to be mostly sculpting, but there is a small section on making jointed figures.