1. Of note - we are in the process of upgrading the site to use HTTPS / SSL. In that time, you may be logged in/out depending on what area of the site you are looking at. If you want to be logged into the forums, please log in via https://www.tfw2005.com/boards/login/. If you do that, you will not be logged in while looking at the front page. We hope to have this fixed within the next 24 hours or so.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with Norton

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by megatronkicksas, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. megatronkicksas

    megatronkicksas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,106
    News Credits:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +33
    So I want to get on AIM but it won't let me the first thing they said could have happened is that I lost internet, which clearly isn't the case. Next they said that Norton could be blocking AIM from me, if so how can I change it? Please I really need your help on this fellow Norton users.
     
  2. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,473
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    In all honesty, the first thing I do when I buy a computer is to remove any trace of norton from it. Any time I have used it, it has been nothing but a headache. It's a resource hog too. I just a combination of other programs for my anti-virus, firewall and adware/malware removal.

    I've never had a virus, my systems run in tip top shape and I can easily rid myself of any adware.
     
  3. megatronkicksas

    megatronkicksas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,106
    News Credits:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +33
    I know, I completely agree with you but I got a virus the last time I un-installed it. The reason I think that Norton is a problem is that as soon as I re-uploaded it I can't use AIM anymore.
     
  4. Rhinox

    Rhinox We bring surreal to life

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,920
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +42
    Ebay:
  5. Zathras

    Zathras Vive le Quebec Libre

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,221
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +190
    Go into the permissions for Norton Security and see if AIM is blocked, if it is... unblock it