Minor/Repaint: DotM leader Ironhide

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by hthrun, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 8, 2012
  2. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Chrome Foil

    I applied some chrome (tutorial) to my leader Ironhide. As you can see, there were some spots that worked out better than others...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Arashistorm

    Arashistorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    2,414
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +11
    this is pretty sweet. gotta check out that arm kibble fix, since I plan on getting a leader ironhide...not too confident in my custom abilities, but stuff like this makes me wanna try it lol. Gonna paint the legs eventually?
     
  4. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Thanks! Yeah, eventually I want to go over all the mis colored metal...
     
  5. nemesisconvoy

    nemesisconvoy Gundam Pilot TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4,847
    Trophy Points:
    342
    Likes:
    +2,884
    This is lookin good man, Nice work.
     
  6. ryukaze

    ryukaze RK Designs

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Likes:
    +0
    nice hthrun! notice that when applied some paint details on certain areas, the figure looks better...and i mean waaaaay better!
     
  7. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Thanks! I love that sig :) 

    Thanks Ryu! Yeah, I think leader Optimus and the deluxe Bumblebees probably have the most details that can be brought out with some paint...
     
  8. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:

    Attached Files:

  9. jemi

    jemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Posts:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Likes:
    +8
    he looks really great. a very good job.
     
  10. Transmetal

    Transmetal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    6,477
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +2,477
    Looks good I'm glad i got the smoke stacks too.
     
  11. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Thanks guys! Yeah, I think they were very reasonably priced, too...
     
  12. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Installed LEDs in FWI cannons

    Big thanks to Matt from RED for supplying me with the switches and thanks to everyone who gave me advise! I included pics of the insides of the cannons and a pic of the back so you can see where the switches are. I made sure the cannons can still be held in IH's fists...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. neevnav

    neevnav The Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    3,885
    News Credits:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +6,644
    Sorry for the resurrection of an old thread, but I just got FWI-2 and want to put LEDs in the cannons. Did you use resitors on those LEDs? Can't see any in the pics.
     
  14. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Don't worry, I'd resurrect this thread anyway after I do some painting :) 

    Nope, I didn't use any resistors. I recently had to fix what I had done because the batteries and connections were coming loose. I used some battery holders from Happy Meal toys this time. Hopefully he's solid for me now...
     
  15. neevnav

    neevnav The Flying Dutchman

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    3,885
    News Credits:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +6,644
    Ah, great thanks. I guess the battery power is low enough resistors weren't necessary. One other, did you take the screws out of the end of the guns to put the LEDs in, or put them off to the side?
     
  16. BLK-OUT 4500X

    BLK-OUT 4500X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    484
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Great job on Ironhide but don't forget to get the hands off of shapeways for him ,keep up the great work .
     
  17. hthrun

    hthrun Show accuracy's overrated

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Posts:
    8,107
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Likes:
    +5,085
    Ebay:
    Yeah, the LEDs aren't overly bright with these batteries. In my rework I used a holder with bigger batteries and the LED did get too bright, so I replaced it with the same size batteries shown here.
    I took those screws out completely and put the LEDs in their place. I can't recall for sure, but I think I may have had to drill the holes bigger...

    Thanks! I'm not planning to get the Shapeways hands, at least not at this point. As long as he can hold Mech Tech weapons I'm happy :) 
     
  18. Bumblebee2002

    Bumblebee2002 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Likes:
    +0
    Magnets

    What kind of magnets did you use, and where can I get some?