By Generation: CW Ultra Magnus - Ankle Rocker Modification

Discussion in 'Tutorials and How Tos' started by ultraman zoffy, Jan 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ultraman zoffy

ultraman zoffy Out here making whatever whenever

I didn't want to spring for an upgrade kit just to get some ankle pivot on the guy, so I decided to tackle Combiner Wars Ultra Magnus' ankles, which were really killing it for me on a bot I otherwise really like.

This is definitely not a beginner modification. I've been modding and customizing for a few years now, so I'm pretty confident taking all my toys and figures apart and working on them.

When working on Transformers, I try to approach things so that if an idea doesn't work out, I can return the bot to it's original functionality, if necessary. This approach to ankle articulation more or less keeps the feet and hinge intact enough to put it back together to it's original construction, since I wasn't sure how well it'd work out initially.

So, here are the basic instructions for this modification:

Tools needed:
    • Dremel (w/ assorted bits: drill bit, ball grinder, sanding bit, etc.);
    • Soldering Iron for removing pins;
    • Hobby Base style ball joints ( I think I used a 5 or 6 mm ball);
    • Super glue or other strong adhesive for plastics;
    • Hobby saw or other appropriate cutting tool (I use an X-Acto saw).

Instructions:

Remove the entire foot and hinge assembly by heating the pins with the soldering iron:

[​IMG]

….then remove the hinge from the foot, again by heating the pin with the soldering iron:

[​IMG]