Anyone still unemployed?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Glhboy, May 19, 2009.

1. Glhboy

Glhboy Goes Like Hell....

News Credits:
    I was just wondering if I was one of the few still out there. My position was eliminated on 12/18/2008 and I haven't been able to find anything at all. Here it is exactly 5 months later and no job.

My last position, I was Operations Manager for a paper distribution company, think the shoe The Office. Of course anyone right now selling a commodity is not doing well, hence the position elimination...well the company did 28 eliminations that day.

I have a dual degree from IU in Marketing and Distribution Management as well as over 11 years work experience, 6 of which were in Operations Management.

I apply to jobs regularly that are everything that I have done before and don't get any response of any kind. I know it's like a "buyer's" market out there as it is with the housing industry, but man I didn't think it would be this long.

Luckily my last employer gave me a couple months severence pay and now of course I'm drawing unemployment, but it is getting very depressing to say the least.

I am also a networking fool and try to meet as many people as I can to try and possibly make some good work connections, it's been my biggest help, but still hasn't popped anything yet.

Anyway, wanted to see if anyone was still doing this?

2. nkelsch

nkelsch Do you know this Icon? TFW2005 Supporter

Applying to jobs via website postings or blind resumes is practically a waste of time in every capacity.

Almost no company I have ever worked for or worked with has ever really hired a professional or management position via blind resume posting.

It is all who you know and networking. For someone of your position, you may need to consider a headhunter or a recruitment firm.