Any fellow WD TV Live plus users?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by 3.8TransAM, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. 3.8TransAM

    3.8TransAM Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,045
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Nw IN
    Likes:
    +174
    Was looking for some translated into English(not a super techie here) info for getting it to work for playing MPEG4's and x264 stuff since a lot is being uploaded that way now.

    Seems to be issues with whomever actually encodes it in the first place from what I can find.

    Thoughts, issues, ideas?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Gordon_4

    Gordon_4 The Big Engine

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    18,196
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    382
    Likes:
    +8,317
    Well, I've never had issues playing mp4 videos on my WDTV Live, but if you need to convert them to something like mkv, I'd suggest Handbrake. Free, easy and potent.
     
  3. 3.8TransAM

    3.8TransAM Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,045
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Nw IN
    Likes:
    +174
    I'm trying to get around the handbrake option.

    I am sick of having to download this or change that to watch stuff.

    Much prefer the download and go route............

    Think handbrake might end up being the only option dammit.

    I will keep poking around but like I said earlier, it seems to be from the intitial encoding where the issues come in....
     
  4. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    13,973
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    362
    Likes:
    +1,973
    I've had better luck with Freemake than Handbrake.
     
  5. 3.8TransAM

    3.8TransAM Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,045
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Nw IN
    Likes:
    +174
    Well I tried converting stuff with Handbrake and no luck.....

    Damn I forgot how long it took to convert shit, good lord of boredom.

    How the hell do I know what I need to convert to so it works?

    Let alone, how do u know they set up the encoding right in the first place?