3D Printer?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Thundercracker Blue, May 3, 2020.

1. Thundercracker Blue

Thundercracker Blue Well-Known Member

(Mods: I didn’t see a thread describing this topic, but if I’ve missed it, feel free to delete/redirect)

I’m interested in learning how to 3D print. Nothing crazy... minor stuff, add-on kits, etc. I’ve looked around online, but there’s a wide range of options and prices, and I’m not sure what I should be looking for.

What printers are people using, and what printer would you all suggest I consider for my needs?

Thanks in advance!

2. Omegaonline

Omegaonline Well-Known Member

Instagram:
    I have been using a Lulzbot Mini for 4 years with minimal issues. It’s a great printer but it’s $1250.
    Prusa possibly gets the best reviews out there these days and is around $700.
    And, Creality is another reputable manufacturer.

a key consideration is how much plug and play vs tinkering with settings you want.
    My Mini was plug and play right out of the box and has been super convenient.

once you have your printer, running costs are minimal for this kind of purpose. Spools of filament last forever doing small part upgrades.

for designing I started off basic and stayed basic with Tinkercad online. It’s a very functional system considering it’s free and available from any terminal through the internet.

good luck with your journey.

I never looked back. It’s been awesome.

• Like Like x 1
  3. optimusprimeroc

optimusprimeroc Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I have a MakerBot rep 2 it is a second-hand printer that I got for free from the library
    it originally was 2000 dollars new
    I used to have a couple of 3d systems cube printers.
    worst printer ever
    they were third-hand printers from the same library as the Makerbot. the library got them for free from target inc.
    the price on the cubes was 1000 dollars each and Target couldn't sell them even with a huge discount