Stylin Online T-Shirts

Register Rules Be A Supporter Members List Social Groups Mark Forums Read
Hobby Link Japan TFSource Big Bad Toy Store Robot Kingdom ToyArena Captured Prey

It's fun-ness on a stick!

Reply Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2010, 11:41 AM   #5341
Is bullheaded.
Collection Count: 12...no wait, 13
News Credits: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolhand View Post
Hey hey hey, the big D-Z is back in da house! Welcome back dude!
Thanks.

Quote:
Good to hear that your work-life balance is on course for getting into a slightly more manageable ratio. I kept meaning post about that, but I totally get where you're coming from and sympathize with the burnout you're feeling. I used to work in the Computer Games industry, which is notorious for chewing people up and spitting them out as overworked, broken shells of their former selves. The best move I ever made was quitting that job and finding something that didn't suck my soul out through my ears by keeping me in the office 24/7.
You worked in the gaming industry? O.O

I've heard horror stories of its slave-driving nature. Good that you got out of there when you did, then.

Always ironic that creation process of a product meant to entertain is completely unentertaining.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagabond Elf View Post
Bioware is based in Edmonton, and I know a dozen or so people who work there. The job the kids always seem to want is QA: You mean I get paid to play video games all day?

No.

You get paid to play broken video games and take meticulous notes; and in the two weeks before the game ships, you're expected to be there for 20 hours out of 24 in a day.

Other jobs aren't quite so bad, but crunch-time still makes your life go away.
As I hear it, when it comes to crunch-time, it's life-sapping all across the board, no matter the department...

Quote:
Originally Posted by halconfenix View Post
kinda off-topic but...

that explains your awesomeness...