Your photography setup/editing software

Discussion in 'Transformers Funnies' started by Sage o' G-fruit, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. Sage o' G-fruit

    Sage o' G-fruit Critics gonna critique

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    7,108
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +11
    I've been liking the discussion threads here, thought I'd jump on the bandwagon! :D 

    What do you guys use for pictures/editing, like what camera do you use, do you use a tripod, lighting tools (if you use them) and what editing software do you use? Basically, your comic making hardware. :D 
     
  2. Robticon

    Robticon Out of the Game

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,151
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    I use a Nikon Coolpix 5900, (5.1 Megapixels) with a 256 MG Multi-media Card,
    I use a Velbon CX 300 Tripod...and I use an editing software
    called 'Photoline'.-If anyone knows how to use Photoline please PM me, thanks. :D 
     
  3. Noise Maker

    Noise Maker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +1
    I have a canon g1 (three megapixils!), tripod, a pink sheet that a set up the toys in front of so it's easier to cut out the background, and photoshop/gimp.
     
  4. Thunder_Cracker

    Thunder_Cracker Friendship is Evil!!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,398
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Canon PowerShot S45,4.0 mega pixels, no tripod :(  I use 2-3 books to station the camera for close up shots or just hold it up with my hand and such for angled shots :p 
    I use Photoshop CS3 and sometimes Adobe Illustrator CS3 for some fun, will be using it later on for some vector images
    Only light in my room comes from a crappily placed window :lol  or my room bulb light at night shootings
     
  5. Sharktibolt

    Sharktibolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5,409
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +32
    I don't use a tripod or lighting. I use MS Paint to resize my images and then GIMP if I want to add effects. Which are usually just eye glows or gun blasts.

    I think my camera is a Panasonic DMC-LZ8.
     
  6. Grimlock_13

    Grimlock_13 Reformed Geewunner

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Posts:
    23,600
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Likes:
    +83
    Great thread Sage! I dig the discussion threads too.

    I'm really low-tech...

    My camera is a Sanyo...not sure what model. It's not garbage but it's not a super nice one either. I use Macro settings on the camera with no flash.
    I do use a tripod...no special lighting stuff, I just turn on all the lights in my kitchen and living room lol.

    I mainly just use MS Paint to add in the dialogue but every once in awhile if I want to add in some little effects here and there I use MGI Photosuite SE and I'm starting to use a little bit of GIMP.
     
  7. Lock Cade

    Lock Cade Tarn Fangirl TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    26,854
    Trophy Points:
    352
    Location:
    Michigan
    Likes:
    +95
    Well, I've been practicing making a comic in preparation for a serious attempt at one, so here's what I've been using so far:

    Camera:
    Sony Cybershot DSC-W50, 6.0 megapixels -- got it for Christmas back in 2006

    Don't have a tripod for it, I've been pretty good at keeping my hands and arms steady enough to take decent pictures. Though it might not hurt for me to find one.

    Software:
    Originally was going to use Photoshop CS3 to make comics, but I recently purchased Comic Life Deluxe Edition, which I'm still experimenting with. Might use Photoshop to add effects, if any, to my pictures before formatting them into a comic using Comic Life.

    Pretty much, that's it.
     
  8. Draeck

    Draeck Tanks can bounce

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Yay! Discussion thread! We need more of these :D 

    Ahem.. the camera I use is a Pentax K10D (10,2 megapixel) and it's actually my dad's camera..

    Right now I always use the external flash thing on top of the camera, it makes the pics look much much better than without. Nothing else in the lighting department.. I just do all the camerawork when the sun is shining so I don't have to worry about it. If the pictures still get dark I edit them..

    I do have a little tripod but I never use it.. I usually just go through hours and hours of sitting still trying to get good pictures, usually I have like 400-500 shots for one episode and often have to delete half of it because its useless... It would probably be easier to use a tripod, or learn to wait until the flash is ready, but its just the way I do it...

    I use Photoshop CS2, thinking about trying out GIMP but I'm pretty busy with making fx in photoshop.. and also a bit too lazy to try it out :rolleyes: 

    Mah camera:
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Katamari Prime

    Katamari Prime Hassan Chop! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7,219
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +4
    Kodak Easyshare z712 IS, 4 GB memory card, sandisk, Dollar tree mini tripod

    Photo Explosion for FX, MS paint for text.
     
  10. TCracker

    TCracker おもちゃは今とても暑いです

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    15,291
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +892
    Ah am using a pretty old FX12 Point and shoot camara from panasonic and nothing else.
    editing is done via Photoshop 7.
     
  11. TCracker

    TCracker おもちゃは今とても暑いです

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    15,291
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +892
    Ah am using a pretty old FX12 Point and shoot camara from panasonic and nothing else.
    editing is done via Photoshop 7.
     
  12. Strarf

    Strarf Crystal Convoy no more TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Posts:
    7,499
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Indiana
    Likes:
    +4
    I use a Kodak EasyShare C813 (8.1 megapixels), a tripod from Wal-Mart, and Photoshop Elements 2.0.
     
  13. eisen

    eisen "CUT ME SOME SLACKS!"

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,703
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    Olympus C-60 zoom

    and i'm cheap so i use photoscape for editing.
     
  14. Mini-Bot

    Mini-Bot Blackout Fan Girl

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    I alternate between two cameras: The Canon Rebel XTi and the Rebel T1i. To edit and put together the comic I use a combination of Comic Life Deluxe and Photoshop.
     
  15. StarFire_MK2

    StarFire_MK2 'Till All are One! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,783
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I've got a HP Photosmart M527 6 megapixel camera I use with a table-top tripod. I usually use the macro setting, and always set the ISO to 100.

    For indoor shoots, I usually set up in my hallway, where it's nice and light (that's why I use sets--same location, different looking environment). I bring in some lamps for extra light if needed.

    For outdoor shots, I try not to shoot in direct sunlight, as it washes images out and I'm too lazy to play with the white balance settings :p 

    Regardless of indoor or outdoor, I shoot everything twice--once with a flash, once without. Since my camera is set up along a different angle than the main natural light source, I get two very different looking images.

    I use photoshop 7.0 for editing. I blend my two images together, usually setting the flash layer to 60-80% opacity with a lighten filter. This gets rid of dark spots and enriches the picture IMO, while still retaining natural shadowing.
     
  16. Autobot Burnout

    Autobot Burnout SANTARN IS COMING AGAIN TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    26,311
    Trophy Points:
    357
    Location:
    Moxxi's Bar
    Likes:
    +351
    Camera: Formerly a sucky Kodak EasyShare camera. Now I use a Cannon PowerShot A2000 IS, and I freaking LOVE my Cannon! The Cannon outperforms the Kodak in every possible way (it came standard with an Image Stabilizer, which really keeps my pcs much sharper than before!) and the quality of my comic pictures drasticaly improved the MOMENT I started using it! Tripod wise, I rarely use it, but I have this ajustable tripod that screws into the bottom of the PowerShot via a hole which seems to be good for nothing else.

    Photo Editing Program: Adobe Photoshop Elements 5.0 ("The Poor Man's Photoshop"). Bought for family photos, it got frogoten until I started into photocomics, at which point it became my personal software. It's more or less a watered down Photoshop, as it's missing a significant amount of Photoshop tools (like the quick selection tool), but the most basic tools (healing brush, blur filters, etc.) are still there. It's also got a photo uploader built-in the software, so I just have to plug the camera in and it automaticaly downloads my photos. I'd get the real Photoshop, but the price tag is still out of my league, so I make do with what I've got (which is enough for moderatley good effects).

    Backdrop: Since my comic is essentialy "Toy's Life with giant robots and sexy Japanese female androids", my house is the backdrop for nearly everything that happens. However, if I need a "set", like when I needed to take pics of characters in a secret Canadian fortress, I simply set up 3 white foamboard walls that meet in a corner to simulate somewhere that's not my house.
     
  17. Chaos Incarnate

    Chaos Incarnate Not just a name.

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,282
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    I use a Casio Exillim EX-Z75 as my camera, though I've been eyeballing a nice new Canon. As a set, most of my stuff is done in my room, though I use other locations when I need to. My main base is a well-lit section of my bunkbed that is cleared off and set aside for that purpose. For editing, I use Photoshop. I used to use Photoshop 5.5, then I upgraded to 7, then CS2, now I use CS4.
     
  18. star11scream

    star11scream Spoon + Star11scream

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    585
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Which is better
    ........Photoshop CS4 or GIMP
     
  19. Robticon

    Robticon Out of the Game

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,151
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    (IMO, CS4 is better)
     
  20. Lock Cade

    Lock Cade Tarn Fangirl TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    26,854
    Trophy Points:
    352
    Location:
    Michigan
    Likes:
    +95
    I've more experience using Photoshop CS3/CS4 than GIMP. I tried GIMP, but wasn't able to master it. So I'd go with Photoshop.
     

Share This Page