Xbox and HDTV...Can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Joe Moore, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Last night I connected my Xbox to a DLP HDTV. I used the standard RCA jacks. The still images looked fine, but moving images looked very fuzzy, as if the alignment was off. I have the Xbox set to Widescreen, but none of my TV preferences helped my game.

    My PS2 looked fine (I only tried DVD's). Will a Component video connection fix this problem?
     
  2. Optimus-JD

    Optimus-JD Team Laser Explosion!

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,121
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah, get the advanced Video pack. I got mine for 9 bucks used at Gamestop. Night and Day difference.
     
  3. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I see that the Advance video pack works with S-Video. Not too keen on S-Video stuff. I saw Gametop and EB have a Component cable with adapters for the PS2 and the Xbox. I'll try them out tonight.

    Edit:
    Fixed missspelling
     
  4. Nightscream

    Nightscream JP TF Master Collector

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Posts:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    S-Video, Composite, Coaxial and Scart is NOT capable of transferring digital video progressive scan signals properly. Only VGA, Component and HDMI can. HDMI is the best, but I don't know if it's even available for xbox, and you will not notice the difference unless you have an extreme high end TV. Component is better than VGA, so that is what you should go with.

    Also be wary of third party adapter/cable hardware. There is a reason that there's a market for gold-plated cables.
     
  5. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Sorry, I meant Component cables in my above post. Word mixup on my part. Thanks for the info on the other cable methods.
     
  6. Optimus-JD

    Optimus-JD Team Laser Explosion!

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,121
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
  7. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,268
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +26
    Ebay:
    I prefer the Monster component cables. But that's just me.
     
  8. Optimus-JD

    Optimus-JD Team Laser Explosion!

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,121
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    yeah, all my cables are Monster, or equivelant. I just use the pack with my own cables.

    Also, if you do get the pack, remember to enable it in the dashboard.
     
  9. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Is this XBox or 360?
     
  10. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,937
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +40
    I personally have the Xbox Monster Cable Component Cables.
     
  11. BigPrime3000

    BigPrime3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,407
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I bought a MS brand component cable set two years for only $20 and it worked so well that I couldn't even read the text on screen when I would see an Xbox running with composite cables.
     
  12. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    i have the monster cable for the X-Box...got it on clearance at Wal-Mart for $5 (along with Eye-Toy: Play for $10 and 2x DDR: UltraMix with Pads for $10 ea.)
     
  13. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Ok, O got a Madcatz Component Cable that will hook up to both my PS2 and Xbox. That's much, much better. Halo 2 never looked so good.
     
  14. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    It would look better on Live when your snipping Twin Twist head from across the field.


    :D 
     
  15. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Yeah I still don't have Live. And I won't until Halo 3 comes out and I'm forced to buy a 360. Even then I'll probably just use the free Live it comes with.
     
  16. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    :mad 
     
  17. BigPrime3000

    BigPrime3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,407
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I think that Live may be the best service or product in the world when it comes to cost - enjoyment comparisons.
     
  18. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I'm sure it is. Problem is, in my house I'd have to run a phone line into my living room (I use DSL). The only phone line on the first floor is in the kitchen. I've been putting it off for awhile now. Halo 3 will be my excuse to stop being lazy.

    Also, the reason I'll stick with the free Live is because I don't care about match rankings or any of that stuff. If I can hop on, play a few games of whatever, then I'd be content.
     
  19. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Ever thought about wireless?
     
  20. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Unfortunately, Live silver doesn't let you actually play online, as far as I can tell. It just gives you access to demos, downloadable content and keeps tracks of your stats, ranks and acheivements.
     

Share This Page