Customs: working on my first customs project - RID Spychangers

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Da_Razorsaw, Dec 1, 2010.

1. Da_Razorsaw

Da_Razorsaw Highwire ownz j00

News Credits:
    Hey. I'm preparing to start my first customs project, and my first goal is to create modernized, classics-style versions of the RiD Spychanger characters.

So far, the one I'm 100 percent committed to is R.E.V. from the Universe Sideswipe mold. That's easy enough to do, and frankly, kind of a no brainer.

That said, the others are much harder to wrap my head around. I'm going to be pretty much limited to repainting and cannibalizing parts from other Transformers, as being a beginner, I feel I should avoid sculpting.

That said, I've already purchased a Machine Wars/RM Mirage and a Cybertron Crosswise, as both of their heads are a good enough approximation of Crosswise and WARS. WARS I would think would make a good enough straight repaint of Crosswise, but I'm also waiting to be sure if his head is compatible with any other new molds before I get too far into things.

The biggest issue is going to be Mirage. I know, I know, Mirage into Mirage would be the easiest way to go, but there's the matter of their heads. RiD Mirage has a helmet with a mo-hawk and faceplate that's very different from Classic Mirage's head, which complicates the issue. I honestly can't think of anything that exists that would fit there. Suggestions, or should I just go for a straight repaint.

Next... I'm thinking Universe Hound for RiD Ironhide. Is it feasible to put Universe Ironhide's head there? Would the transformation work? I kinda need to figure this out in advance, lest I waste too much money. x_x

The last one is Hot Shot. Easily enough, I'm thinking of just doing a straight repaint of RtS Jazz in the vein of Ricochet, as Hot Shot/Artfire is a homage to Ricochet.