Wireless router questions...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Glhboy, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. Glhboy

    Glhboy <font color=red><b>Goes Like Hell....</b></font> Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,486
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +2
    So I have a D-Link wireless that is hooked up at home. I have a desktop and a laptop, laptop of course with a wireless card so I can use it anywhere in the house. That was the case until 2 days ago, anymore the laptop won't get online unless I'm right by the router or in the same room. Anywhere else it says wireless network unavailable. I have no idea what it would be. I've tried uninstalling, reinstalling, disabling. Internet works fine on the desktop at all times...
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,235
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    So, what happened two days ago? Something must have changed, a setting or something.

    Do you have wireless security set up?

    Is it possible you were using the neigbor's signal and they turned it off?
     
  3. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,622
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,451
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    This will sound stupid, but it could be interference from something.

    I have a wireless router setup, and periodically during the week it'll refuse to work, weak signal/no signal, but work fine a few hours later.

    Everytime that happens I listen for the neighbours using a hairdryer, or someone near the router with a mobile phone.
     
  4. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Best bet would be to get a signal booster or a bridge to extend your network to a greater area. Also try adjusting the channel your network is broadcasting on. It is entirely possible somethign could be broadcasting on the same channel and knocking your signal out.
     
  5. Glhboy

    Glhboy <font color=red><b>Goes Like Hell....</b></font> Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,486
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +2
    How do I do any of that??

    Nothing happened at all, just was using the laptop in another room and all of a sudden it just said network unavailable. I'm sure none of my neighbors even have cable internet either.
     
  6. Aaron

    Aaron Master of Crystalocution Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    21,680
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    307
    Likes:
    +1
    Twitter:
    Uhm... I've purchased 3 routers for my apartment, 2 were D-links, the D-links died within months. Not saying that's the only possibility, but with my experience it's possible.
     
  7. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,235
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Is it possible for a wireless router to only partially loose signal strength?
     
  8. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    You can buy a signal booster, bridge, new antenna, or an access point at any electronics store.

    If you want to adjust your network settings via the browser itslef, type in your IP Address in your address bar. That should send you directly to your router. Be very careful with any settings you mess with there.
     

Share This Page