wireless router question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zzeezz, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. Zzeezz

    Zzeezz Ambassador of Music TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +0
    hey guys ,
    I'm trying to set up a linksys wireless router so that I can connect to the internet with my psp. It will work for a while, but then I get a dns error and I cant connect anymore. Turning off the router will correct the problem, but is there something causing this to happen that I can fix?
     
  2. Hotspot17

    Hotspot17 Search and Rescue: Vet

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3,988
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    I don't know much about wireless router but do have a linksys wirelss router. I actually don't use it cause I was told by a cable guy that it's easy to access by outsides and that you can hack it very easily. You might want to find some sort of protection.
     
  3. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,235
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Try changing the channel on the router, you could also try setting it up for a static IP.

    There's quite a few things you could do - experiment.
     
  4. fschuler

    fschuler Member TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    2,202
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Likes:
    +0
    I use a Linksys WRT54G wireless router myself and had a similar problem trying to set it up to work with a laptop. I would have to clear and then refresh the IPs every time I booted the laptop in order to connect to the router. Try setting up the encryption (I use 128-bit) and use a static IP so that it won't change the settings. Megamoonman has got the idea!
     

Share This Page