Wireless router help please!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 03Mach1, Nov 2, 2006.

  1. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,261
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +18
    Ebay:
    Until recently, I've been running an older Microsoft Wireless Basestation MN-500 with no problems. My desktop, laptop, original Xbox and 360 are all connected to my network. Over the last 3 weeks, my connection drops into the red at random times of the day causing my game experience to be unplayable. I've tried a new Linksys b/g router and have experienced the same problem. I've tested the wired connection speed and it's well over 1.5 Mbps. The best guess I have at this point is that someone in my complex has a new router that's somehow interfering with my network. I'm considering upgrading to an a/b/g router or a b/g wit speedboost but I'm not sure either will help. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Pimpimus Prime

    Pimpimus Prime (┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐) TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    6,074
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +13
    Ebay:
    Change the channel its on. Most routers come on channel 5 or 6 by default and when you have a bunch in the same area, it can cause problems like you're seeing. Changing it to a higher or lower number can help.

    Check and see if you're laptop has a utility that will let you monitor the wireless networks in your area. If not, Netstumbler (http://www.netstumbler.com) will do the trick. You can use this info to see what channels are in use.
     
  3. TSFC

    TSFC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    1,181
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Also, if your router isn't secured, you could have God knows how many people stealing bandwidth.

    Time to lock it down.


    EDIT: On the Linksys router, the configuration manager can be accessed by putting

    http://192.168.1.1 into your address bar, and then give the login information (which is the SSID, which is Linksys if you haven't changed it) and the password is admin.

    In there you can change channels, up the security (which requires numerous Microsoft updates and hardware updates to accommodate the new level of security.)

    You also want to set it to WPA2 Personal, with a TKIP+AES password setting. Once it's locked down, only you can get on, and you'd be amazed at how much your speed will stay up.

    Also, rename the router, that way people won't know what type it is. Problem with Linksys is they use the same scheme for each router, then expect you to fix it as you see fit.

    Also, don't use the SES (Secure Easy Setup), do everything by hand. WPA is good, but it's still crackable. So is WPA2, but it's nowhere as easy.

    EDIT 2:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/893357 (Windows XP support for Wi-Fi Protected Access 2 (WPA2))

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=2636CFCE-49EA-4D06-80BA-21A84F3658A5&displaylang=en (Security Update for WinXP)

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=E4B5BA57-D4F2-4798-9154-2869E371C9D1&displaylang=en (Cumulative Update for IE6)

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=0C1B4C96-57AE-499E-B89B-215B7BB4D8E9&displaylang=en (Security Update)

    All of these were handpicked by PC World magazine to help elevate security. Also, you need to update your router's firmware to the most recent, which is here:

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Content_C1&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1115416835852&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper

    Find which model of router you have, and which version. It will say on the back of the router itself. Install the firmware and all of those Microsoft updates, and you'll lock down like Fort Knox.
     
  4. KnightSaberAmi

    KnightSaberAmi Nyan Nyan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Posts:
    2,896
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    We had this problem not too long ago... My brother is the "Networrk Admin" for our household :lol  Basically he said the modem was dying and we bought a new one and its been fine ever since...
     
  5. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,261
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +18
    Ebay:
    Thanks for the info. Both the Linksys and Microsoft routers are secured with WEP. I'll try the downloads you suggested and hope for the best.
     

Share This Page