Heavy/Scratch: WIP: "Optimus!" Bionicle leader class Shockwave

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Tyrannosaur, Aug 9, 2011.

1. Tyrannosaur

Tyrannosaur 100% Sarcastic Saurian

Thought I'd jump on the bandwagon with everyone making their own leader class Shockwaves, but go a different route.
    Since I'm still a newbie at customizing transformers, and I lack $$$ to buy figures to use as parts, I figured "Hey, why not build one out of Bionicle parts?"
    So I planned it out in my head and started building. Well, not actually build but just grab pieces and attach them together :lol  then sort the whole mess out afterwards. It's not entirely accurate to the CGI model but I integrated a few elements from it while throwing in some of my own ideas. I did this all in 3 hours or so. 4 hours if you count finding all the pieces I need.

Things to note:
    -Does not transform
    -The chest and lower torso are two separate pieces, connected by limb joints from the waist to the shoulders.
    -Lower legs have pistons for stability, to also make Shockwave more stable I put rubber hoses going in and out of holes in this body to hold him together.
    -Going to super glue a few parts because they keep popping out when you move that certain area (One or two spots in each ankle, one in his cannon arm.)
    -Trying to find a way to give him light-piping also, have a few ideas but having difficulty putting them in.
    -Head still under construction. Any ideas what I should do because I'm stumped :( 
    -He will have those three turbines on his back like he had in the movie.

I wish there were purple Bionicle parts but the color scheme I have for him works fine too. Does anyone know if there are any purple Bionicles/Hero-Factory sets? If anyone can give me some ideas on how to build the head it would be greatly appreciated :D 

Full Body Shot
    [​IMG]

Head close up
    [​IMG]

A neat little idea I thought of :D 
    [​IMG]

Close up of cannon.
    [​IMG]

Back