2D Artwork: WIP of C-Hot Shot bust, and C-Apelinq bust (brown primal repaint)

Discussion in 'Transformers Fan Art' started by Maximo Prime, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. Maximo Prime

    Maximo Prime Bassist of Ill Repute

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    5,158
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Here ya go - first pen on notepad, then colored on Photoshop. Thanks to Hunter Rose for eye-glow help, and Josh for inspiration!

    [​IMG]
    crits welcome
     
  2. chubbzilla

    chubbzilla One shall stand...

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    625
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    cool
     
  3. Grimlocks Pretender Shell

    Grimlocks Pretender Shell mmmm...energon

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    982
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Sharpen up your lines and turn the line layer to multiply this will get rid of the white.

    Other than that it looks pretty cool.
     
  4. Maximo Prime

    Maximo Prime Bassist of Ill Repute

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    5,158
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Grim - thanks! As i'm pretty much learning as i go, can you go into a little bit more detail about what you're talking about? PM me if you can. Thanks again!!
     
  5. Dreweido

    Dreweido Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    8,166
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +2
    Ok here's what you want to do:

    Open the layers window. If you don't already have it, go to the top, select Window, then select Layers.

    You'll see your line art on one layer. Select that layer by clicking on it in the layers box then going to the top left corner of that box click the down arrow and select Multiply.

    Now go to the buttons at the bottom of the box. You'll see one that will say New Layer when you pass over it. Press that and put the new layer "underneath" the layer with the lineart.

    Use this new layer to put down your "flats" aka the basic colors.

    To add shadows, for right now, create another new layer. This time again make it 'Multiply' and put it "over" the layer with the colors. Select a color to shadow with (a COLOR not black). You do the same for highlights but instead of 'multiply' use 'Screen'. You can put that "over" or "underneath" the shadows layer but it must be between the lineart and the flats.

    W00t
     
  6. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,583
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Lookin good!
     
  7. Grimlocks Pretender Shell

    Grimlocks Pretender Shell mmmm...energon

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    982
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Thats exactly what I was going to say! Kudos to you good sir!
     
  8. Dreweido

    Dreweido Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    8,166
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +2
    Although what's worse is that I didn't have to open Photshop to write that haha...

    oh Photoshop how I use it too much
     

Share This Page