Heavy/Scratch: WIP Hearts of Steel Shockwave

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Boggs6ft7, Feb 22, 2009.

1. Boggs6ft7

Boggs6ft7 TFW2005 Supporter

This is something I have been working off and on for the past two years. I keep coming back to it thinking I'm going to finish him and then something else comes up. I recently picked the project up again and I'm nearly finished designing him and have some parts built. I wanted to start posting pictures here every so often so that I don't unload all at once on the site.

I started this project for a few reasons. One, I really enjoyed the comic (except fo the ending), two I saw Lobo's Megatron and thought it was awesome, and lastly was Griffith76's HOS Optimus. I saw what Griffith76 had done and wanted to try the same thing with HOS Shockwave since it had not been tried yet. Before I go any further, I would like to say that Eric (Griffith76) has helped me tremendously lately in making my model look "right" He is a genuinely nice and helpful guy. I also want to say thanks to my buddy Disco who has seen this since the beginning and given me advice on what was working and what wasn't. In return I call his house leaving messages of me singing Air Supply songs. Its a nice arrangment we have worked out.

Apparently, I went about this the wrong way in designing this figure. I started with the boat form instead of the bot form. Eric infomed me this is the opposite way to go and looking back it would have saved me the headache I'm going through now in making his bot form look "right". I'm having some proportion problems, but it should work itself out.

This drawing was done in autocad and based mostly on the concept art that Guido did. There are only a handful of pages that have Shockwave, so some artistic liberty had to be taken. It was from this drawing that I based everything else. Quite a bit has changed since this drawing, but I'll post more later. When finsihed, he will stand about as tall as MP Prime.