Windows Clipboard technical question...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yodafett, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. yodafett

    yodafett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Is there a decent way (or even freeware route) to expand the storage allocation for Windows Clipboard? I don't mean the number of items it stores, I mean the length of text it can copy at once? I keep running into issues putting together long-ish documents where I try Copy and Pasting, but it cuts it off half-way through. I can't even find out what the default allocation for Clipboard is...

    My Google skills are failing me. :( 

    TFW2005, you're my only hope!
     
  2. Mixmaster

    Mixmaster logh ghot SIS yoD TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Likes:
    +34
    Microsoft Office extends the Clipboard, although it would be silly to buy Office just for the Clipboard enhancement.

    Or try these.
     
  3. yodafett

    yodafett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    I actually DO have Office, but I'm still running into that problem of after I highlight everything I want to copy, and paste it, i have to go back and figure out where the copy left off and do multiple CTL+C/CTL+Vs to get one body of text. I'll go through those google results as well, but most of them seem to just add "instances " of clipboards, not to the size of the clipboard... Thanks for the input and info though! :) 
     
  4. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I can't be sure about this but I believe that the size of the clipboard is directly proportional to the amount of free RAM in your system so if you increase your RAM it should increase the size of your clipboard.

    I'm not positive though.
     
  5. steve4j

    steve4j Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Likes:
    +0
    what is your machine configuration?
    ram, disk space etc?

    I cut and paste megabytes at a time w.o problems!

    (have you considered upgrading your OS from Windows 95?)
     
  6. RoboticPlanet

    RoboticPlanet Exclusively Exclusive

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Posts:
    2,999
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +13
    Just trying to fully understand the problem...
    Are you sure it's the clipboard and not the buffer length of MS Word? I don't have Word to test it, but perhaps that's a possibility. After you paste in what's allowed, can your add more text? What's preventing you from just doing multiple copy & pastes?

    Also have you tried copy 'n pasting your stuff into a another program like OpenOffice Writer, wordpad or even notepad?
     
  7. yodafett

    yodafett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Well, I'm running with 2 GB of RAM, so I wouldn't think that's the issue... :confused: 

    I'm running XP SP2 on a 3.2Ghz Intel Pentium D dual core, 2.0 GB of RAM, 160 GB disk (50GB free), with Office 2007.

    I have tried copying into Wordpad and even Notepad with the same results. I've copied large files and images without any problem before, so don't think it's the memory allocation to Clipboard after all, but I'm wondering if there isn't a number of characters buffer that limits how much raw text you can copy at once, in terms of length. And yeah, I can past more stuff immediately after that, it just seems to limit how much text you can copy at once.

    Oh well, I've made due by repeated copy/pastes, so it's not an issue, for now at least, it just got me thinking and wondering if there was a solution, that's all.

    Thanks again to everyone who offered ideas and solutions!
     

Share This Page