Windows 7 upgrade preorder through Amazon -- $49.99

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Tenebrouser, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. Tenebrouser

    Tenebrouser Craft...or is it crap?

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,666
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +0
  2. AnimatedFan

    AnimatedFan Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,657
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    I'd spend $100.00 and go for the Professional upgrade.
     
  3. Darkravager

    Darkravager Zombie Hunter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,293
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +1
    Meh. I don't really have any issues with Vista.
     
  4. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,510
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +125
    I don't think I can upgrade from the Release Candidate 1 version, so I'd have to pay full price. My only valid Windows license is for Windows 98 SE, which won't even run on my current computer--and I lost the registration code anyway.
     
  5. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,463
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +26
    You can't upgrade from a home flavor of Windows to a business one, not that he'd actually want to in the first place since he'd be paying more to get stuff that he is never going to use.
     
  6. Tenebrouser

    Tenebrouser Craft...or is it crap?

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,666
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +0
    I've read a lot of positive things about it, such as its cleaner desktop and quickness of web page loading on Explorer, among other things.

    I don't care too much about operating systems, but if I could squeeze a little bit more life out of my current laptop, I figured $50 isn't too bad.
     
  7. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,510
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +125
    Depending on your needs, you could possibly squeeze even more life out of it with a good Linux distro for $0.

    I do like Windows 7 though.
     
  8. Dinobot Nuva

    Dinobot Nuva Johnny 3 Tears Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7,968
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +15
    No problems with the version of Vista I'm running, and I don't see that big of a performance boost coming out of it gaming wise anyway.
     
  9. AnimatedFan

    AnimatedFan Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,657
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    >_< That sucks. Sucks the balls.
     
  10. j3

    j3 Kiefer is my Big Boss TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Posts:
    6,801
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    I wonder if I need a "legit" copy of XP for the upgrade to work. I want to grab W7 at $100 instead of the $300 for Full, but I don't think I've had a legit copy of Windows since 95. Currently running the W7 RC and it is amazing, but my "primary" (I haven't booted into it in months) is XP Pro, non-legit. Then again I might be able to find an old license for XP Home from a parent's old PC. I know it doesn't do an upgrade install anyway, it just verifies you're launching from XP then reboots to install from the disc.
     
  11. AnimatedFan

    AnimatedFan Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,657
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    ...ooh. I have MCE 2005, and it's XP Pro...could it upgrade? :D 
     
  12. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    man, this is only for upgrades...no full version discounts.

    im building my new computer so will be needing a OS...:( 

    i still might pick up a OEM XP and get the upgrade. Or i might do the MS Vista->7 upgrade option they have...i need to see which will be cheaper.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  13. seven

    seven RIP Poopers 4-1993/5-2008

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    So does anyone know if the upgrade versions are as half haggard as the Vista Upgrades. The Vista upgrades still used a lot of XP and were inferior to the full release of Vista.

    I ran the Windows 7 system checker thing and I'm good to go. It does tell me to to a custom clean install though, Implying that I need to do a fresh install of Xp (which I need to do since my PC is getting rather bloated) then the upgrade. I might order it and wait for reviews and more info on how it will work with my system.
     
  14. AnimatedFan

    AnimatedFan Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,657
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    Order it and sit on it a while. Wait for the inevitable Service Pack 1, or Rollup Update whatever, before installing it.

    At least you'll have it, and when it's good to go with all of the updates, tweaks, etc...you'll be ready.

    I think that's what I'll do. I wasn't planning on getting Windows 7, but considering the low, low price, I can't really beat it. In fact, I think that's the cheapest OS offering from Microsoft, so far.

    I tried the beta, it was impressive. Not everything worked quite right with it, but it was surprisingly stable for being a beta. I ran program after program without a crash. It was quite impressive, and not a massive resource hog, either.
     

Share This Page