Wii Component Cables Only Available Online

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Joe Moore, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Nintendo will not sell the Wii component cables in stores. If you want the component cables, you will need to order them online from places like Best Buy or Circuit City. Oh, and your Gamecube Component cables won't work, so no luck there.

    http://wii.ign.com/articles/740/740296p1.html

    That's just incredibly dumb to no end.
     
  2. adamthered

    adamthered Reads comics. Starts shit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Posts:
    4,963
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +3
    Didn't Nintendo do this with the Game Cube too?
     
  3. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Yup. And I remember people thinking it dumb then as well.
     
  4. Hook

    Hook Out of Options Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,454
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec
    Likes:
    +2
    Facebook:
    Well that's an incredibly stupid decision... RF cables, I'd understand... But component? Not everyone has S-video or DVI connectors!
     
  5. Optimus Scourge

    Optimus Scourge Arcee's boy toy Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,670
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +5
    ouch. that really sucks
     
  6. Gigatron_2005

    Gigatron_2005 President of Calendars

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,871
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +1
    Ugh. Not this bullshit agian...
     
  7. Deefuzz

    Deefuzz Beard On! Beardmaster! Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    13,306
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    246
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    The other thing that was stupid about that is how rare it was...By the time I got an HDTV you could no longer order the component cables through Nintendo's online store.

    So I'll bring home the Wii for launch and play it through composite until I can find component cables online and get them shipped to me...that is kinda dumb.
     
  8. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Composite and HDTV do not mix well at all. I got nauseous trying to play Xbox with composite cables on my HDTV. Not recommended in any way.
     
  9. Cheetatron

    Cheetatron Eh

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Posts:
    4,710
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    You dont seem to understand component is a high end video cable much higher end then S-video so any one who has component slots on their tv will have S-video as well. Composite is what your thinking of.
     
  10. BigPrime3000

    BigPrime3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,407
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I don't have an HDTV, but my TV has two composite cable inputs, one component cable input and no S-Video cable
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    my tv doesn't even have composite inputs :( 
     
  12. adamthered

    adamthered Reads comics. Starts shit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Posts:
    4,963
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +3
    How do you think I'm gonna feel. We've been watching all our DVDs and HDTV with HDMI cables :ev: 

    Oh PS3, how nice you will look and sound on 50 inches of HDMI goodness.
     
  13. Xcandescent

    Xcandescent TRUKKS are the new MUNKYS

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +4
    LAME. Bad Nintendo!

    -XCN-
     
  14. Gigatron_2005

    Gigatron_2005 President of Calendars

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,871
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +1
    Yeah, composite cables on HDTVs look just plain awful. I tried to play Resident Evil 4 my home theater projector... ugh! I couldnt believe how bad it looked. So these component cables will be a blessing at least. Still very lame we have to go online for these.
     
  15. Gryph

    Gryph Action Master

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    10,401
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +30
    The DS WiFi adapter was also supposed to be online only, yet I see them at Best Buy all the time. They'll be in stores eventually.
     
  16. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    SPAZZY Jeff and the Fresh Prince.
     
  17. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    Bah. Third party ones are bound to be out at launch, and especially after this.
     
  18. Onslaught Phase 2

    Onslaught Phase 2 Know my name and fear it!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Posts:
    424
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    What's the point of the component cable anyway? I think the Wii didn't have a HD built in...?

    Or can it still run in progressive? I always think progressive as HD.. :p 

    If it doesn't run progressive, I guess it will just look nicer :( 
     
  19. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    certain games play in progressive....Tony Hawk wont have progressive nor widescreen format for their launch game.

    the outside TV doesnt have component or S-Video...my TV inside my room, though, has S-Video and Component inputs.
     
  20. REDLINE

    REDLINE longer days, plz? Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    27,867
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +3
    progressive scan and widescreen are still supported. I hope 3rd parties have a cable available AT LAUNCH. damnit. I remember hating having to wait ten days to get my component cables for my 'cube.
     

Share This Page