why launch the pillars there?

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by LordShockwave, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. LordShockwave

    LordShockwave Harold of Power.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Posts:
    737
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +7
    Sentinel prime says "decepticons around the world launch the pilars". It shows that chicago has the main blue streamline that connects cybertron to earth right? Then why launch pillars in china or japan or wherever that was? Wouldn't that be on the complete opposite side of the planet? If the tower in chicago that holds the controll pillar really is the side where cybertron was, then why are the decepticons "around the world" launching the pillars everywhere on earth. Wouldn't you just need it on 1 side of the planet?
     
  2. Jetcracker54

    Jetcracker54 Fire Truck

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Posts:
    486
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    because micheal bay and his crew dont know what the hell they are doing
     
  3. Chris McFeely

    Chris McFeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    4,607
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +316
    To create a bridge of the appropriate size. The bridge needed to be as big as a planet, so the pillars were spread out around the planet. The control pillar is just the "on switch" and the focal point of the bridge. The number and spread of the pillars dictate its size.
     
  4. Ash from Carolina

    Ash from Carolina Junior Smeghead

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    14,774
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +1,052
    It's to make a nice visual and to give the film an international feel without actually having the Autobots and NEST battle Decepticons all over the world.
     
  5. LordShockwave

    LordShockwave Harold of Power.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Posts:
    737
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +7
    But then wouldn't they need to launch it at an angle? Not just straight up? Cause if they launched them straight up there would be useless pillars on the whole other side of the planet
     
  6. Quickdrawn94

    Quickdrawn94 Bronybot

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
  7. frenzyXprime

    frenzyXprime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Posts:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    They're devices that rip holes in time and space, defying our laws of physics. Do they need to make sense?
     
  8. mattarmstrong

    mattarmstrong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,802
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Because the script called for it
     
  9. Overlord Balder

    Overlord Balder Voices Slugslinger!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,306
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +5
    It's a strategic measure I believe: By spreading the pillars around the world, they made the whole thing harder to find, and thus safer.

    As for why they couldn't just reunite them in Chicago, That would take too much time, they needed to pull off the plan RIGHT. NOW.

    I don't understand what you mean.
     
  10. LordShockwave

    LordShockwave Harold of Power.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Posts:
    737
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +7
    I mean that if they just all shot the pillars staright up when they were on a spherical planet, there would be pillars surronding the whole planet
    but if they shot them at an angle (say they were on the side of the planet) then it would end up alined with the center facing ones. Sorry if it doesn't make sense I really don't know how to explain it.

    But the stratigic thing makes alot of scense. Maybe that's what they were going for
     
  11. Overlord Balder

    Overlord Balder Voices Slugslinger!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,306
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +5
    Ah, now I get it.
    On that case, you can easily explain all the Pillars would allign themselves automatically once launched or they can work even "unaligned".
     
  12. Aernaroth

    Aernaroth <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Posts:
    24,386
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    367
    Likes:
    +1,347
    It could be that while the main beam was in chicago, the pillars worldwide were used for telemetry or keeping the beam focused or something, or maybe they were stationed there for multiple jumping points later or backups that never got a chance to be used. Or maybe the pillars elsewhere are acting on the various dimensions we can't observe, and tying the whole thing together.

    Its most likely just for the sake of the script however.
     
  13. bonycrushy345

    bonycrushy345 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    263
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    the earth is round so technically it is on an angle.
     
  14. LordShockwave

    LordShockwave Harold of Power.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Posts:
    737
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +7
    Ya maybe the could like move around to be aligned like when it was over the reflicting pool in DC
    like they moved around in space or something?
     
  15. Starscreamownz

    Starscreamownz Air Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3,800
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +6
    "As the afternoon falls, the rest of the pillars will reach their launch position."

    The pillars were launch where they wanted cybertron to appear then they waited for earth to rotate into position with Chicago in the center.
     
  16. Poho

    Poho That's MISTER Poho to you

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    6,207
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    :bay 

    that is your answer.
     
  17. megatron66

    megatron66 OD'd on candy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    604
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
  18. Autovolt 127

    Autovolt 127 Get In The Titan, Prime!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    82,270
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    412
    Likes:
    +688
    Bay had a couple shots from different parts of the world.

    So why the hell not he said,
     
  19. emoo

    emoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    1,434
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Likes:
    +101
    I think the simple explanation is cybertron was so big and massive it needed all the power of the hundreds of pillars combined to draw it in. After all they didn't need all the pillars to bring in the invasion force, because they were not as massive as a planet. All the pillars energy merged with the control pillar in chicago, which is why it is one central beam.
     

Share This Page