Why doesn't Hasbro enforce their intellectual property rights?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Snark, May 17, 2011.

1. Snark

Snark Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    So I'm a total newbie to Transformers toy collecting (got my first ever voyager last week; DotM Ironhide), and thus, I apologize if this question has already been asked and answered in the past.

Anyway, I've recently found out that there's a pretty substantial market for 3rd party products. Whilst it has to be judged by a case by case basis, most of the 3rd party items I've seen are blatant violations of copyright.

So why doesn't Hasbro sue for an injunction or even damages? It seems odd that they wouldn't put more effort in protecting the intellectual property rights to some of their most lucrative products.

2. misterd

misterd Well-Known Member

My understanding is the third parties are either in countries outside Hasbro's reach, or alter the product enough to make a violation difficult to prove.

3. mx-01 archon

mx-01 archon Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Best guesses are that, for the time being, they're essentially letting them be, as a form of fan service. While there's all sorts of legal grey area (or outright illegal bootlegging) going on, the 3rd Party groups haven't made any real moves on Hasbro's profits. They might even provide fringe benefits, in terms of keeping interest in the franchise high as a whole: essentially, free advertising.

Hasbro's certainly not ignorant of their existence. IIRC, Eric Seibenaler owns City Commander himself.

While this is true to a point, it is well within their capability of halting their sales by putting pressure on the retailers that sell them. IIRC, that's part of what killed the original iteration of Ages Three and Up. Hasbro forced them to stop selling the bootleg G1 replica figures, which left them holding on to a pile of unsalable stock that they had already paid good money for.

4. Snark

Snark Well-Known Member