why are most kids these days so bloody dumb and lazy?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lumpy, Feb 21, 2008.

1. Lumpy

Lumpy Taylor Swift Actionmaster Super Mod

News Credits:
    as some of you may recall, i'm a middle school teacher. and currently teaching a creative writing course (which is totally awesome to me)

however, i have so many kids that just dont bloody care about doing anything...even when i tell them they can write anything they want about anything they want...this generation seems so lazy and just wants everything given to them without truly working for it. it drives me nuts.

in my 6th period i have a group of about 15 (of 27 total) who choose to do NOTHING every day...and they will fail this 9 weeks, and then (this is the best part) the parents will be pissed at me cuz their kid is a dumbshit who doesnt do anything...we really need a major overhaul in education here in the US...all these standards and AYP (annual yearly progress, IIRC) just force principals to push through most of the kids who dont deserve to go on, and only really hold back the complete failures....it really bums me out...and the pay doesnt help either...

i've seriously been considering going back to school to get more experience with digital art and moving into that field. sony is building a new studio out here, and they are going to be looking into hiring a ton of people in the next year...then i could be doing something really freakin sweet, and getting paid well enough for it....

and its not just at this school, ive taught at 3 schools, as well as subbed at numerous schools before that, and its the same thing everywhere....ugh...its so frustrating...i was in high school less then ten years ago, and i recall each class having one or two 'trouble' kids, but now it seems like the number has just grown exponentially, and will probably just continue to suffer as well....