Where's the region free dvd player thread???

Discussion in 'Movies and Television' started by Noisemaze2006, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. Noisemaze2006

    Noisemaze2006 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,630
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Where is that thread about region free dvd players? I just got the UK Robots In Disguise dvds & now I need to get a region free dvd player. I was looking for the thread but I can't find it.
     
  2. Might Gaine

    Might Gaine The Devil Express

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Posts:
    2,972
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +7
    I don't know, but I got something called DVD X Player for my computer that seems to do a decent job on non-R1 DVDs.
     
  3. Freyabeads

    Freyabeads TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Posts:
    672
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +2
    Can't help with the thread, but I got Backscatter's from here.
    http://www.dvdoverseas.com/

    Works great, no issues at all. We have a Toshiba SD560SR
     
  4. Deviant Anomaly

    Deviant Anomaly Obsotted Fangirl

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Posts:
    1,695
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    I don't know anything about a thread, but I have ordered a player through this site before.

    http://www.regionfreedvd.net/

    It is possible to use a code that will change the programming of your existing player to region free also. I would search on Google for sites that offer codes for free.
     
  5. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Moved to a more appropriate forum.
     
  6. transmetropolitan

    transmetropolitan nonjon TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Posts:
    940
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Likes:
    +0
  7. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    just get any Apex brand DVD players and enter the debug code. Then set to region 0. BAM! region free DVD at less than $40!
     
  8. transmetropolitan

    transmetropolitan nonjon TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Posts:
    940
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Likes:
    +0
    I've gone through 2 in 6 years, but I must admit, the mileage gotten out of it was worth the price.
     
  9. mineraljane

    mineraljane Gravity Hugger

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,599
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +2
    You could always rip the discs to your computer and make copies of them. The software is free, and you wouldn't have to buy any more hardware. Just the cost of a couple of blank DVDs.
     
  10. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    agreed. I have had some fun with them. I installed a custom firmware on an older one that had the ability to "boot" from a burned cd. It allowed playing of just about every file format under the sun. Apex are great cause you have very little invested but they are the most flexable in terms of hacking.
     
  11. iam12fear

    iam12fear Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Likes:
    +0
    This website is great for finding region coding hacks. Just type in your model number and see if there is a hack for one you already own.

    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks
     
  12. Noisemaze2006

    Noisemaze2006 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,630
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    The thing that's really pissing me off is the dvd player on my PC won't load. I successfully changed the region (you can only do this 3-4 times) but it won't load. I could've been watching the discs but I just can't get the damn player to load anymore. It's been like this for a while & I wish I could figure out what's blocking it. It just stopped working overnight. I click on the dvd player & the loading page flashes for a split second & then nothing. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page