Where to begin in Tranformers comics?

Discussion in 'Transformers Comics Discussion' started by TheGreatMrChibi, Jul 13, 2009.

1. TheGreatMrChibi

TheGreatMrChibi The tighter shirt.

Hey guys!

I'm fairly new to Transformers fandom, and I'm burning for more content. Yesterday, I was leafing through my small collection of comics and came across my sole Tranformers comic, "Spotlight: Wheelie". I picked it up on a whim, and absolutely loved it.

Now, I know there's a lot of different comics from a lot of different companies, including standalones, miniseries, and ongoing series-- and I have no clue where to begin.

So, where should I? What are the best Transformers comics ever produced? What are the classics any newbie should enjoy?

2. guard convoy

guard convoy The Big Daddy

News Credits:
    marvel g1 comics, best way to start

3. Scantron

Scantron Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Subjective, of course, but a mixture of "best ever" and "classics":

- Simon Furman's run on the Marvel US G1 and G2 comics - Issues 56 - 80 of the Marvel US G1 comic and issues 1 - 12 of the Marvel US G2 comic. Collected in the TPBs Primal Scream, Matrix Quest, All Fall Down, End of the Road, Dark Designs and Rage in Heaven. The G1 stuff is Furman's "Unicron" arc in the comics and, IMO, the best run of TF comics ever. There's a bit of continuity from issues 1 - 55 of the Marvel US G1 comic that comes up, but reading those issues isn't vital to understanding these stories (and, TBH, 1 - 55 are generally pretty bad).

- Dreamwave's G1 Transformers: More Than Meets the Eye profile books - Eight individual issues that have been collected as a two-volume TPB set. The character profiles borrow heavily from previous profile series and the toy/cartoon characterizations, so they're a great way to get to know the TFs. There's a little bit of DW continuity interspersed in them, but it can be easily ignored.