Where do you get your ringtones?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wreckgar, Jul 29, 2007.

  1. Wreckgar

    Wreckgar Anthony Stark Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    7,838
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Likes:
    +6
    As the title says. I just got a new phone and am looking for some real song ringtones, none of that polyphonic stuff. And Cingular...I mean AT&T doesn't have many songs I want. So who out there has a large selection and how much do they cost?
     
  2. DevilzFan

    DevilzFan CobraIsland.com Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,557
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    Wish I could help ya, but I can't. I just make my own on my computer from my mp3's, and message them to my phone. Verizon = love.
     
  3. Seth Buzzard

    Seth Buzzard R.I.P. Buzzbeak Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    15,170
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +4
    I have AT&T/ Cingular also. When I got my curant phone I made sure to get one that could use the MP3s I already had.
     
  4. plowking

    plowking I'm with ErechOveraker. Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10,980
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Location:
    Earth
    Likes:
    +19
    I make my ringtones on 3gforfree.com.....I have an account there....
     
  5. Metal Soldier

    Metal Soldier The Robot

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    5,182
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I was editing my own and uploading them on Ringtone Soup, but it seems to be down right now.
     
  6. Wyvern

    Wyvern Velvet Sanchez

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Posts:
    8,364
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +1
    I make my own as well.... but i do get the occasional one from cingular....
     
  7. Atomsplitter

    Atomsplitter Needs a new title.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,915
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Same here, it's great.
     
  8. Weirdwolf

    Weirdwolf TFYLP Podcast Founder TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,057
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +84
    I make my own mp3 ringtones on my MacBook, then use Bluetooth to send them to my phone.
     
  9. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    My RAZR lets me make my own, using the software that came with it.
     
  10. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    no fancy ringtones for me. i just choose the least annoying from the default ones.

    also, i keep the vibrate mode on when its in mah pocket cuz i like the tingling sensation near my crotch.
     
  11. rework

    rework The Voice of Experience

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    With the huge number of CDs I have, damn well bet I wasn't going to be paying for ring tones.
    I just downloaded a sound editor and carved out the 30 second segment I wanted to use... Wasn't too hard....
     
  12. Zzeezz

    Zzeezz Ambassador of Music TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I can't access the web through my phone, and I'd need to buy a 30 piece of software to connect the phone to the computer. Damn, alltel sucks.
     
  13. rework

    rework The Voice of Experience

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    That kinda sucks. I just connect mine with a USB cable.

    Buying ring tones is a huge rip off IMHO. They charge way more than they should. I almost gagged when I saw the prices for the first time...
     
  14. Wreckgar

    Wreckgar Anthony Stark Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    7,838
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Likes:
    +6
    Then it looks like my best bet is to get the USB cord and just upload my MP3s.
     
  15. Zzeezz

    Zzeezz Ambassador of Music TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    No kidding. My phone does connect to my computer by means of a USB cable. The problem is that I can't do anything with that connection unless I buy motorola's software for 30.00.
     
  16. rework

    rework The Voice of Experience

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    That sucks. I just move the file to the memory on the phone, browse to it, and set it as a ring tone.... Not the quickest process, but no software needed.
     
  17. Ops_was_a_truck

    Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    11,549
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Yeah, I just upload MP3s to my phone with the USB cable that came with it
     
  18. bigkid24

    bigkid24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Posts:
    3,806
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +9
    What good free mp3 editors are out there? I had the software for the razr but it only works if it detects the razr before I can edit the mp3.
     
  19. rework

    rework The Voice of Experience

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Pretty sure the one I used was Audacity:
    http://www.snapfiles.com/get/audacity.html
     
  20. Weirdwolf

    Weirdwolf TFYLP Podcast Founder TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,057
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +84

Share This Page