Customs: What's the best way to do panel lines?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by payton34, Apr 4, 2009.

1. payton34

payton34 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I just got my City Commander reprolabels today and I'm wanting to do some panel lines on him to bring out more of the detail, but I've never done that before.

What's the best instrument to use for making panel lines, and what exactly is the process? Is it really as easy as it sounds (just marking in the grooves of the plastic)?

2. Drpee

Drpee Banned

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I think the easiest way is to use Gundam markers.

3. TonyzCustomz

TonyzCustomz Am I doin it rite? TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    A 3x0(.25) Rapidograph with the color ink of your choice.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2009
  4. payton34

News Credits:
    Can I get that at most craft & hobby stores? The only ones close to me are a Hobby Lobby and a Michael's.

Or is Ebay my best bet?

5. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits:
    Hey Mike,

Simple answer: Gundam Markers...they are made specifically for panel lining. I Grab Gundam markers from ebay. The ink seems to hold up much better than rapidographs or any other types. I've tried the beige and grey rapidographs from pearl or michaels...they suck and jam up after a few minutes. And they are quite expensive, hardly worth keeping care of, plus you'll probably want waterproof or permanent inks, which I've never seen in the store...

You want a felt type, not ball tip, the ball tip will get jacked up after a few minutes. I get mine from some sellers in China or Honk Kong via ebay, usually $1-2 each, and there are different colors. I have a drawer with about 20 in it. Make sure you get the ultra fine tip ones.

here's 3 for $1...can't get better than that.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/GUNDAM-MARKER-G...5|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:1|293:1|294:50

6. payton34

News Credits: