What's it like to manage people?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Streck, Feb 28, 2007.

1. Streck

Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

I've never managed people, only servers. While my authority overrides that of the junior sysadmins, they don't actually report to me.

My curiosity leads me to ask a general question of all the managers here: What's it like? I'm sure it's different for everyone, depending on the environment and underlings involved, but I'd like to hear your experiences.

2. Jux

Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

I've held management positions since I was 18. It's an interesting experience.

When I was in college, as a freshman, I had to manage older students who thought I had no right to be their boss. It was challenging in many ways, and the only thing I could do was to earn their respect over time. As I continued through that job and became the older student to the younger ones myself, I was able to be a better role model because of it.

My other jobs have been interesting as well. At my last job, I managed a crowd that ranged from 18 year old college kids to 65 year old grandmothers. Managing much older people was something that I needed time to adjust to.

Overall, it's awesome. I like being in a role of authority, but even more I enjoy being the guy people come to with problems, or when they need an answer.

3. MegaPrime33

MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

It's good and bad. I mean it's nice when people get to ask you questions and rely on you to know what's going on. But that can get really annoying when they abuse it and keep constantly asking stupid questions all the time.

4. MegaMoonMan

MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    YouTube: