What is this transformers?

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by cluelessguy, Aug 25, 2006.

1. cluelessguy

cluelessguy Member

All right, I'm new here, becasue I'm new to Transformers. How new? Well, I'm just trying to get he basics down right now.

Alright, so this new Michael Bay film is coming out of the Transformers, right? Well, like I said, I've never been very big into Transformers, so I begged the question over just what it was. I mean, I knew it was a cartoon series, a comic book series, and a toyline, but what came first? What was the original Transformers, that all the others are based on.

So I found out that it was the toyline that came out first, in the 80s. Originally, they had no backstory to them, they wer just toys that transformed into robots. Then the comic books began being published , and then the backstory that the comics introduced began being put on the boxes of the toys themselves.

So, I thought, well, geez, when the Transformers first came out, what were, you know, the first ones? You think that'd be important, but I seem to find out anywhere. I mean, there's this whole "Generation 1" thing that they have lists of, but that just lists all the ones that came out over a course of ten years, in alphabetical order. I'm interested in finding out what the first wave of Transformers were, then what the second wave was, and so on. The order in which they came out, not just in alphabetical order.
    Also, When they first came out, I know they had no backstory, but were tehy still separated into Autobots and Decepticons? This is information I would really like to find out.

So, does anyone know where I can find this out?

Thanx alot!

2. Valkysas

Valkysas Attack Buffalo

News Credits:
    They had a backstory from day-one, the bios and story were always on the package.