What does Win32 do?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Soundblaster1, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    I keep getting errors for the generic host processes used by Win32. I'd like to know if it's of any importance, or is it ok to ditch?

    This isn't like OMG ERROR!!! once in a blue moon... It's like OMG ERROR!!! OMG ERROR!!! OMG ERROR!!! OMG ERROR!!! OMG ERROR!!! OMG ERROR!!! OMG ERROR!!! -almost constant.

    I'm on a Windows XP machine if that helps any.
     
  2. FreshDebesh

    FreshDebesh <b><font color=brickred>oye chak de phatte!</font> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    8,865
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
  3. MnemonicSyntax

    MnemonicSyntax Rooks Gang Leader

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5,415
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +205
    Win32.exe?

    That's be a virus, brought on by RATEGA. Simply put, it's a security risk as it allows remote access to your PC.

    What sort of Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware are you using? Also, I'm interested in knowing any other issues related to your problem and when it started occuring, etc.
     
  4. MnemonicSyntax

    MnemonicSyntax Rooks Gang Leader

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5,415
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +205
  5. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    It started happening when I got my HP printer (a month ago?) but only got this bad since I updated Java last week. For the record, I'm mad as hell my mom put ALL the HP stuff on the computer, when virtually none of it was needed.

    I'm using AVG for Spyware and virus protection.

    I did a search earlier (Win32) and all I found was a bunch of GIFs in a Java folder and a few files.

    EDIT: search results!!! None of them match "Win32" which has me concerned... Why the hell am I getting errors for something I don't even have?
     
  6. MnemonicSyntax

    MnemonicSyntax Rooks Gang Leader

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5,415
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +205
    I'd just follow the MS knowledge base article that Fresh Debesh posted then, considering that pretty much hit the nail on the head.
     

Share This Page