Fan Art: what 3d programs are you using???

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by optimus_primus, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. optimus_primus

    optimus_primus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    375
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    hey I was wondering what cg programs the 3d artists use on this board. Is it Maya, 3d studio max or a different one?
     
  2. Star Cracker

    Star Cracker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,116
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +2
    Well, if you must know, I personally use Maya, though I believe Primus, shedbandit, and weewoo use 3D Studio Max, Draven and Cataracks use Lightwave, and there are more artists, though I'm not sure what they use.

    Why do you ask?
     
  3. weewoo

    weewoo Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    maya has driven me to tears on more than one occasion.. learning it bled the fun out of 3d for me ._.

    *hugs her 3d studio max*
     
  4. Moroni Prime

    Moroni Prime #TFYLP Podcast

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    4,104
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    212
    Likes:
    +31
    o_O  I don't think I've seen you on here in years. Heck, the last time I remember seeing you was back when Tony B. still had theme music to the site, before the Transfandom incident. (way before I ever actually joined the boards, etc...).

    Do you have any new projects coming any time soon? (last one I remember was RiD Prime)
     
  5. Depthcharge

    Depthcharge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Posts:
    1,740
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    I'm by no means an artist but when I've had to do 3D modelling in the past, I used Rhino 3D. In no way is it the best but its easy (and intuitive) to use and still quite powerful. I also have used POV for rendering.
     
  6. weewoo

    weewoo Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    i havent regularly been on here in years, either :redface:
    new projects, not really.. just working on finishing old ones that i probably started working on since way back in those old days :lol 
     
  7. BMGFX

    BMGFX Awesome Spooner Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,467
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I use 3D studio max. :) 
     
  8. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    3d studio owns you. bow before the autodesk, your ruler!
     
  9. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    I use Lightwave.
     
  10. IACON

    IACON "That's Vector Sigma?" TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,048
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Likes:
    +5
    I use the followings:
    Maya
    3D Studio Max
    Houdini
     
  11. Misatokitty

    Misatokitty The Major

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,946
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    3DS Max all the way. And my imagination. But my modelling skills are far better in my imagination, so I prefer to ignore it and use Max instead.
     
  12. Kris Smith

    Kris Smith Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Likes:
    +0
    I've been using 3D Studio Max since the first version of it came out WAAAAY back in the day (like the EARLY DeathWind days). But i'm using 5 right now, never found a need to get the newer versions. When 5 came out the whole program was reorganized and it took me so long to figure out where everything was again. So, I'm kinda scared to get a new version. Besides, 5 works perfectly fine for what I need it for.
     
  13. Sledgehammer

    Sledgehammer Digital art monkey

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Posts:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent, England etc.
    Likes:
    +10
    MAX for me - tried Maya, it melted my brain. o_O 
     
  14. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    ive been using 3d studio when MAX wasnt appended to the name and DOS was the platform :D 
     
  15. ashe5k

    ashe5k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,396
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Well, when I actually work on aynthing I use Truespace or Lightwave. But that happens rarely if at all anymore. *pouts*
     
  16. Angryscott

    Angryscott Pancake Hustler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    I use Lightwave 8. That way, I can follow Draven's tutorials :) 
     
  17. george tremarco

    george tremarco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    I use 3dsmax 7. I've dabbled with most other 3d packages including Truespace, Maya and Ginema 4d but I've never really picked anything else up.
     
  18. elgoodo

    elgoodo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Posts:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    Likes:
    +0
    doesn't anyone aside from myself use Softimage XSI? :) 
     
  19. Mr Ray

    Mr Ray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    nope :p 
    my tools of trade are 3dsmax7 and photoshop :) 
     
  20. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Same for me. 3DS Max 7 and Photoshop.

    Anyone tried out Max 8 yet? Doesn't really seem to be any reason for me to upgrade.
     

Share This Page