Well, my TV is weird. Please help.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dalarsco, Feb 8, 2006.

  1. Dalarsco

    Dalarsco Kickback=ROCK

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    My old TV (32" Sony Trinitron, circa 2000) would cut about an inch off all the sides of my screen. I couldn't find any setting to change it, so I assumed that it was just because it was starting to go to shite. It was most noticable when I burned some GUndam SeeD fansubs onto a disc and it cut off half the subtitles since Fansubbers always make them right on the bottom of the screen. Then, a few months ago my brother accidentally threw a tennis ball at it and bashed in the on button, so my parents bought a new one (32" Panasonic Tau). Well, today I decided to watch some Bleach on my TV that was stored on my iPod, and it turns out that my TV has the same problem. I've watched the files fine on my comp and the iPod itself, but the TV cuts off the edge. My TV has no image size changing feature, and there appears to be no mention of this in the help pages of the manual. So does anyone know how to fix it?
     
  2. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    Does the TV display other things, such as regular television, without problems?

    It could be a problem with the VCD/DVD you made.
     
  3. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
  4. Ops_was_a_truck

    Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    11,549
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    In some way shape or form, you've GOT to be able to adjust the vert. & horiz. on your TV - every television's got that. If you can find those adjustments, you can probably change the TV's image just for your anime VCDs...just change it back before someone tries watching tv.
     
  5. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    The Outer Limits dude begs to differ, bitch.
     
  6. Ops_was_a_truck

    Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    11,549
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I wonder if that's the same reason I can't change the channel when that show comes on... :huh
     
  7. Atomsplitter

    Atomsplitter Needs a new title.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,915
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    My TV suffers from the same problem... but it's older then some of the posters on this forum (Maybe about 15 years old). If you somehow find a good way to unscrew it, it would be good to know.

    Until then, i'm saving up for a 42 inch Samsung DLP :) 
     
  8. skywarp

    skywarp The extra Autobot

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    121
    Likes:
    +0
    The problem is not the tv but the source material you are displaying on it. What you are seeing is called underscan. TVs underscan all video sources they get. Which means they cut off roughly an inch of video on all sides. The problem is that you computer overscans and shows you the whole picture. Which may include unwanted bits at the top or bottom.

    The fansubers did not pay attention to the TV safe zones when the subbed it. I do not know how to fix this for you since it is not a v or h hold issue.
     
  9. KidDynamite

    KidDynamite don't know nothing Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,627
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    I second this, it was my first thought when I read the problem you had.
     
  10. Dalarsco

    Dalarsco Kickback=ROCK

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    That is the most retarded "feature" I've ever heard of.
    So basically I'm screwed? It doesn't make any sense. Why the hell would they purposefully force cropping like that? :banghead:  I can sort of tell that about an inch is cut off everything, but it only becomes an issue when the subtitles are close to the bottom.
    EDIT: I just checked the manual again and yes, there is no way to change the vertical and horizontal.
     
  11. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0

    Your computer monitor has a far greater resolution than a standard television set. They're not trying to rip you off, it's just the way things are configured for television broadcasts. If you're going to be upset at anyone, be upset at the fansubbers who didn't take into account people who might make VCD's out of their work.
     
  12. Chaos Muffin

    Chaos Muffin Misadventure Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    28,751
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +4
    Just throw it in the lake
     
  13. Dalarsco

    Dalarsco Kickback=ROCK

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    So are all television broadcasts fitted with inch thick black bands around the edge to accomodate this? It seems silly and inefficient to me. It's not as much anger as it is frustration with illogical systems. I beleive in technology being reduced to the simplest possible operating structures. Making all TVs cut off an inch serves no discernable purpose that I can see, and is therefore a pain in everyones ass. They have to add a frame to everything broadcast and to every DVD, then in the case of anime fansubbers have to remove the frame since the greatest number of people will be watching it on the computer screen and it's simpler for them to not resize thier screen so that the image fills it. Then anyone who wants to replay it on a TV has to add in some sort of frame to the image somehow. All work that could be avoided if TVs just showed the entire image by default.
     
  14. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    Calm down, hammer. TV's have what are called "Safe zones." Most professional video editors let you take this into account, for the purpose of when you're placing text. For example, this is from my Vegas program:

    [​IMG]

    See that red line? That's the safe zone. It's not your television's fault that your fansubbers didn't take this into account.

    As for the purpose of this ...

    and

    Let me ask you, what resolution is the source media you're trying to play? And when you put it on VCD/DVD, did you reencode it at all? Or did you leave it in this original format? Because it's not the same type of technology, and unfortunately for you, your fansubbers didn't take this into account.



    *Edit: And possibly the best thing to help put this in perspective:

    http://scanline.ca/overscan/
     

Share This Page