Video Game Testing: Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Lunar Archivist, May 13, 2009.

1. Lunar Archivist

Lunar Archivist Well-Known Member

I know that a lot of gamers have often wondered about what it would be like to play video games for a living. Well, that's where this thread comes in. :) 

I've been working as a video game tester for the past few years, so I have some knowledge of what goes on behind the scenes. While I can't dish the dirt on up and coming titles due to confidentiality agreements, if there's anyone out there who has questions, post them here and I'll do my best to demystify the profession for you.

2. OmegaScourge

OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

1) Where do you play (Home, at the game studio, etc)

2) Do you get to choose the games you want to play (ie, if you arent into said genre/game, you dont have to play it)

3) How long do you play the games (a week, said hours, til your bored)

4) how much input that you have given have been used?

3. Recall

Recall Player Select

News Credits:
    I'm NOT a games tester but I've always heard this:

1) at a specific part of the studio, a place of work with all the correct things set up

2) you are told what to play, you may have a specific deadline

3) you work you're contracted hours

4) your job is to find bugs and make sure things work how they are intended, you have no say over changes unless its a change that is about debugging a certain aspect etc. You test a product.

Thats how it was back in the SNES days with especially with the development of Donky Kong Country, which I've seen some interviews of with game testers during that period.

I can see some of it being true though, working from home helps no-one so all working in the same location (on the same game) makes sense.

4. Nexus Prime

Nexus Prime Creation is proof.