Fan Art: UV texturing 3d transformers?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by ALPHA TRION, Jan 27, 2007.

1. ALPHA TRION

ALPHA TRION Member

Greetings all Transformer Fam
    I'm a 3d modeler and I'm good with modeling, but I suck with texturing. I know how to do basic texturing, and I know how to uv unwrap, but when I unwrap my model, do I get crossed with the specular, bump, and displacement maps. I also need to know wich one I put details as for as rust, dirt etc on. I use 3ds max 8. Thanks for all feedback.

2. Simian

Simian Biscuits and Gravy....???

News Credits:

while im no expert...on the software I use Specular uses black and white values from a map to control the specular highlights on the model( sorta like where the light will be reflected off the object and to what extent) Bump uses black and white values for calculations that simulate irregularities in the surface of your model...(for example..golf ball divets, the bumbs are simulated by the maps and do not actually affect geometry) and finally displacement uses black and white values to actually distort the geometry depending on the tessalation of the mesh..

So diffuse is the channel you would put your actual colored map and the bump channel could have the same map in black and white for the rough look of rust, nicks, scratches etc...or thats how it works for me anyway...but diffuse is the actual color map channel...

3. ALPHA TRION

ALPHA TRION Member

Thanx Simian, that's sorta what I figured, I just have'nt really dived into texturing. One more question though. When I paint my textures, do I paint the highlights, or do I just paint the basic colors, and the details, and the rest is generated automatically?

4. Venksta

Venksta Render Project Creations TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits: