US Navy Transformer

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by Altitron, Jan 10, 2009.

1. Altitron

Altitron Commercial Artist

Ebay:
    Hey guys! For those of you who don't know me already, my name is Brett Wolff, and I serve in the United States Navy. I have been doing so for 8 years now, and was most recently a member of the decommissioning crew onboard the fast attack submarine, USS Hyman G. Rickover (SSN 709).

I am now stationed in Japan, working for Commander, Submarine Group Seven, in Yokosuka. Normally, my position in the nation's silent service does not afford me very many luxuries, but today I stumbled upon one that I can't wait to share with you all!

Reading our current issue of the Navy Times newspaper last night during my shift, I happened upon a rather delightful story:

'"A Transformed role - Sailors share the screen with giant robots"

The U.S. military has declared war on giant, shape-shifting alien robots. Amid blinding platinum dunes baking in the 105-degree sun, scores of elite servicemen and women cluster in and around real tanks, rocket launchers and personnel carriers as they unleash a machine-gun barrage at an invisible (and entirely fictional) enemy: Transformers.

Real-life sailors from the aircraft carrier John C. Stennis and the submarine Topeka not only got to witness the shooting, many also will be used as extras in the movie, "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen", which opens June 26.

A Transformers fan site - Seibertron.com - The Ultimate Transformers Resource - got a first-hand account from one Stennis sailor.

"They arrived in costume (at least Tyrese and Josh did) and began working almost immediately. From what I saw, all of the filming with the cast was done in 'closed' sets. The rest of the filming on the flight deck seemed to be flight operations, of which I was there and will hopefully make the final cut", according to the post.